Orphan Blocks Find Homes

5 01 2015

 

With the holidays behind me, I’ve had some time to sew this past week. Instead of totally concentrating on UFOs and WIPs (UnFinished Objects and Works in Progress) . . . of which I have plenty, I spent several happy hours designing and sewing a couple of baby quilts. You saw the top for “Celebrate Life!” in my last post. Here’s the finished quilt. I meandered single loops and double loops with aqua variegated thread and bound the quilt with aqua fabric. Remember . . . you will find a link to the instructions for this quilt on my “Patterns” page.

DSCN6962

The quilt pictured above was actually the second quilt I made. The design morphed from the quilt shown below. Prior to sewing “Celebrate Life!,” I fiddled around with 6 1/2″ blocks that daughter Trinity had leftover from her “Slant Six” mystery quilt.

IMG_3529

I arranged the blocks in diagonal rows on my design wall, adding some medium gray print and cutting a few more squares of textured dark gray print. I’ve heard babies can easily focus on black and white and red. What do you think?

IMG_3527

Next, I thought to find a purpose for a “March to Spring” orphan block in the center of the quilt. So I replaced the four center squares with the 12 1/2″ block. Do you like the quilt better now? (“March to Spring” was published in Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, vol. 9. Click here if you’d like to order a copy of the magazine form Quiltmaker.)

IMG_3528

Then I contemplated adding large red squares to coordinate with the small red squares in the patchwork block.

IMG_3530

Yes, I like that much better. The bold red lends sparkle and fun, don’t you think? The quilt evolved from drab to fab! I added a 3″ wide black polka dot border so the quilt would measure 42″ square.

There were a few 6 1/2″ blocks leftover, so I used them to expand the backing fabric.

DSCN6964

I quilted loops and double loops in gray thread and bound the quilt with Kona black.

DSCN6966

Now for your mission, should you choose to accept it . . . use one of your orphan blocks to make a quilt. Send me a picture; I’d love to share it with blog readers. aby.quilts@gmail.com

DSCN6963

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 01 2015
Marie Krause

As always these quilts are cute, cute ,cute!

6 01 2015
quiltiferous

Such a good idea to make up some baby quilts from orphan blocks! It’s always nice to have some time to sew in the winter, isn’t it? You make such lovely quilts!

Leave a Reply

