“Prest-O, Change-O” Wedding Gift

14 01 2015

Celebrate” is my word for the year . . . and this weekend we will celebrate the wedding of my nephew. What better way to celebrate and commemorate his wedding day than with a quilt!

DSCN6969

Several years ago, I made Paul a bed quilt as a graduation gift with a Basic Grey/Origins fabric line from Moda. You might think flowers is an odd choice for a young man’s quilt, but I thought it appropriate since he majored in horticulture at Va. Tech and has taken over my father’s greenhouse business. There was, of course, fabric leftover, so I bought two packs of 5″ charm squares, solid brown (for setting triangles and inner border), and extra yardage for the backing to make a coordinating lap quilt.

I used my pattern “Prest-O, Change-O!” to make the 52″ x 65″ quilt. This is a quick and easy way to turn a straight setting of squares into on-point squares. Changing squares into diamonds makes for a more visually interesting quilt, I think.

According to the pattern, I first sewed squares together in rows. Then I joined the rows to make the straight-set quilt top as shown below.

Presto Changeo straight set

After stay-stitching diagonally through the solid brown squares, I cut the quilt top apart (yikes!), moved the two pieces, and sewed them together. Then I cut the quilt top apart again (double yikes!), moved the two pieces, and sewed them together. Prest-O, Change-O! Here are the magical results:

Presto Changeo on point

I added a 2 1/2″ brown inner border and a 6″ floral outer border.

Presto Changeo with borders

Leaves and loops are quilted all over in variegated green thread. Leftover border fabric was handy for binding the quilt. And a label commemorates the celebratory occasion!

DSCN6968

If you would like to purchase a pattern for “Prest-O, Change-O!” send me an email  aby.quilts@gmail.com

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 01 2015
quiltiferous

What a great way to celebrate! This is also one of my favorite patterns you sell! I love your Origins quilt, too!

14 01 2015
Maridee Hargis

Love this pattern.

Leave a Reply

