“Bowtie” Re-make

23 01 2015

As projected in my last post, I presented a lecture, “My Quilting Journey” to the Greater Columbia Quilters on Tuesday. When she saw all my quilts piled on the tables at the front of the church fellowship hall, one attendee laughingly asked if all those were charity quilts. Well . . . I sure won’t be donating the vintage and antique family quilts, but some of the lap size and baby quilt designs sure would work well for gifting. One such small quilt is the “Polka Dot Bowtie.”

IMG_3558

Aren’t polka dots so fun and cheerful? Perfect for babies and toddlers and for all of us who are young at heart!

The “Polka Dot Bowtie” is a re-make of my Grandmother Sedivy’s “Buttons and Bows” queen size quilt. After my grandmother passed away, my mother asked me which of her quilts I would most like to have. I chose this one because I knew how much time “Gaga” spent piecing and hand quilting it. The bowties are 2″ finished, hand-pieced with 1/8″ seams. All the tiny center squares are set-in corners.

IMG_3554

The blocks in my quilt are much bigger, as you can see, and “snowball corners” form the triangles for a faux center squares. I arranged blocks of similar colors diagonally and added black polka dot sashing for visual punch.

IMG_3556

You can note basic measurements and construction method in the photo below.

IMG_3561

Freehand meandering and loop quilting echo the dotty motif of my re-make, and black binding lends and definitive finish. Let me know if you try the “Modern Bowtie” design. Wouldn’t black and white prints for the bowties and red sashing be eye-catching?

News Flash: Quiltmaker is sponsoring a Quilt-A-Long of Bitty Blocks in 2015. They will post a new pattern the first Monday in each month with the goal of making a throw sized quilt. Click here for the tutorial of January’s 3″ Blowtie block.

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 01 2015
Jen Johnston

Loved seeing both quilts in person last week! I love the polka-dots too!

25 01 2015
Cyndy Knapp

Both quilts are lovely. Thanks for giving the sizes for your blocks. I really like the bigger bow ties. Great job!

Leave a Reply

