Jelly Roll Challenge Finished

28 01 2015

IMG_3575

In my previous post, I detailed the preliminary construction of my latest quilting project. In the past few days, I sewed columns 1-5 together and then sewed 6-10 together. Then I joined the two halves of the quilt to make the whole top.

Here’s a picture of the quilt on the longarm machine without the quilting texture.

IMG_3569

Now you can see the texture added.

IMG_3570

I thought about using a dark variegated thread, but I didn’t have enough on the spool. Usually my go-to thread color is olive green because it blends nicely with most colors. But this time I selected an old gold variegated thread. I really like the outcome; the gold gives some sparkle to all the rich, dark colors.

IMG_3574

To echo the linear design of the quilt, I free-handed continuous rectangles of various sizes.

IMG_3571

The quilt, in all its modern, linear glory, will be perfect for Darin, my teenage second cousin.

Actions

Information

One response

16 02 2015
Elaine

Love what you did with that jelly roll, Aby! Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

