“Candy Ring” Finished

9 02 2015

 

IMG_3559

It’s been a long time since I posted about “Candy Ring,” a string-pieced project! You can read about the beginning of this project here. The block pattern was published in the May/June 2014 issue of McCall’s Quilting magazine.

IMG_3562

Since April 2014, I’ve worked off and on piecing quarter circle arcs of scrappy strings on paper foundations. When I thought I had enough to make a wall quilt, I invited Lisa and Janet over to play with a layout of all the trimmed arcs. The possibilities are endless!

Idea #1

Candy ring 5

Idea #2

Candy ring 3

Idea #3

Candy ring 1

Idea #4

Candy Ring 2

Idea #5

Candy ring 4

More time elapsed; I made a few more arcs and centered this design on my white background fabric.

IMG_3542

Then I added some wavy diagonals which accentuate the diamond shape and fill the white background space.

IMG_3545

After removing the paper foundation and sewing the arcs together, I pinned them to the white background and attached them with a machine buttonhole or blanket stitch.

IMG_3543

Desiring the quilting in the white areas of the quilt to stand out, I selected a light gray thread to quilt a free-hand fern with double spine. The double spine helps define the wavy fern leaves. Click on the picture, then zoom in to see quilting details.

DSCN6973

My “Candy Ring” looks nothing like the “modern dresden plate” quilt I set out to make last April, but I am very happy with the results!

Quilting detail

IMG_3590

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 02 2015
quiltzone10

Well done, Aby! What a great twist on an old pattern. Your filler quilting looks really good and stands up well. I’m so glad you posted this. The colors fairly pop off the quilt and it is so beautiful. Again, great job!!! Beth

9 02 2015
Marge

Great! I really like that. Hmmm, maybe have to get the magazine so I can do it since I have a lot of scraps. thanks for sharing.

9 02 2015
Marge

I do have a question. What is the size of your background block?

Leave a Reply

