Do You Want to Build a Snowman?

26 02 2015

A Aby and Kathy

These quilts are the result of a fabric challenge. In December 2013, for my birthday, Kathy gave me a mini charm pack (2 1/2″ squares) and four fat eighths and two fat quarters of Snowman Gatherings designed for Moda. She kept the same amount of fabric for herself and embroidered two snowmen/friendship panels which she found in a quilting magazine.

Without collaborating or sharing our progress, we agreed to make small quilts and reveal the results during a quilting retreat this week.

Here’s my quilt in progress.

A Aby's snowman in process

And here’s a close up of the finished project. My quilt is a little larger because I wanted to use all the 2 1/2″ squares. My hang-up for finishing the quilt was taking time for the hand embroidery. I discovered that the embroidery did not take as long as I thought it would!

A Aby's snowman quilt

Here’s a close up of Kathy’s quilt. The mini stars, which finish at 2,” are absolutely precious. We are both pleased as punch with our snowmen quilts!

A Kathy's snowman quilt

Have you accepted the challenge of working with a friend on a common project with a common fabric?

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 02 2015
DebM

Both are wonderful! Good to see you too — bet you are having a blast at retreat!

26 02 2015
Pam Bonstead

I like the “snowballs” and added snowmen in your quilt, Aby. I also like your hair that length, very much.

Leave a Reply

