“With Help from Friends” Finished

6 03 2015

 

DSCN7094This past summer Fons and Porter’s Love of Quilting published a Shoo-Fly quilt designed by Liz Porter. You can see her quilt and purchase a digital pattern here. Along with several of the ladies I quilt with, I determined to make the quilt. What’s not to love about it? The alternate squares are blue (my favorite color), and the tiny blocks are pieced from Civil War reproduction fabric (of which I have plenty).

The blue print was left over backing fabric from my Just Takes 2 quilt. The mathematical puzzle was making a quilt large enough to use up the blue fabric, but not making such a large quilt that I would run out of blue fabric!

 

 

Liz accumulated her Shoo-Fly blocks in an exchange with her friends. A block exchange is an excellent way to gain various fabrics and colors. Her quilt design twinkles with scrappy abandon!

I decided to make Shoo-Fly blocks that finished at 4 1/2″ to speed the project along. My friend, Nancy, showed me how to make 8 HSTs at one time. To make the 2″ unfinished HSTs, I cut a square of shirting and a square of colored print. I drew both diagonals on the wrong side of the shirting.

DSCN7054

Layering the print square and the shirting square with right sides together, I sewed 1/4″ away from both sides of both diagonal lines.

DSCN7056

Then I cut the stitched squares on the diagonal lines and vertically and horizontally through the center.

DSCN7057

Voila! Eight 2″ HSTs. Of course I trimmed off the “dog ears” before sewing the HSTs into Shoo-Fly blocks.

DSCN7058

For the quilting design, I selected “Double Plume” by Keryn Emmerson. My two best options for thread color were old gold (a Magnifico polyester with some shine) or dark Williamsburg blue (So Fine! 2 ply polyester). Since I prefer to quilt with the same color of top thread and bobbin thread, I decided on the blue because it blends better with the backing of the quilt. You can see the floral gray/blue backing at the top of the photo.

DSCN7052

“With Help from Friends” is currently my favorite quilt!

DSCN7095

.

Actions

Information

7 responses

6 03 2015
quiltzone10

Aby, I really like this quilt and can understand why it’s your favorite! So glad your journey is flourishing! Love, Beth

6 03 2015
Mary Ed Williams

Love this quilt! And the technique for making half-square triangles. Question: do you ever use starch to help with the bias edges?

6 03 2015
Marie Krause

I love this quilt and seeing it in person is even better. Maybe there will be something similar in my future because right now the shoo fly is my favorite block.

6 03 2015
Brenda E.

All the quilts you feature whether they are your own pattern or someone else always appeal to me since blue is my favorite color too!

6 03 2015
Jen Johnston

Another stunning quilt Aby!

9 03 2015
Heather Raymond

I like the way you put the shoefly on point. It created a nice look.

11 01 2016
Brown Bag Challenge, Finished! | abyquilts

[…] from squares and HSTs leftover from a Civil War repro “Shoofly” quilt. Click here and here to read the back […]

Leave a Reply

