Quiltmaker Bitty Blocks – March

9 03 2015

On the first Monday of each month this year, Quiltmaker publishes a mini block on-line. This month it’s “Home Sweet Home,” a darling little house.

QM bitty houses

You can read editor Diane Harris’ tutorial here. Her bitty house blocks are pictured above. Quiltmaker suggests making a Row by Row quilt at the end of the year. You can see several suggested layouts for various sized quilts here.

DSCN7124Inspired by a quilt I saw exhibited at the Mid-Atlantic Quilt Festival, I made nine blocks with my collection of ethnic prints acquired several years ago on a mission trip to Nairobi, Kenya. I added a few scraps from Kaye England’s “African Inspirations” line. I used black as the background just as the “inspiration quilt” did. Black really allows the bold colors to “pop.” Notice the letters on the selvage at the bottom of the center house, “GHAN.” This fabric was printed in Ghana!

 

Have you perused the quilting book “Best of Circle of Nine” by Janet Houts and Jean Ann Wright? I used a setting idea from the book to arrange my nine bitty house blocks in a circle. Arranging them in a circle rather than sashed traditionally seems more village-like.

DSCN7129

After adding a narrow black border all around, my mini quilt measured 13 1/2″ square. For quilting, I chose a thin black thread and stitched minimally in the seams. Binding with a zebra print jazzes up the quilt, don’t you think? Now I have a visual, quilt-y reminder to pray for people suffering religious and ethnic persection in Africa.

DSCN7145

What fabrics would you use for your itty bitty houses?

 

 

Actions

Information

6 responses

9 03 2015
Liz

Your bright colored little house make an adorable quilt. I especially like the circle arrangement. It will certainly be a blessing for those you remember in prayer.

9 03 2015
DebM

That is so stinkin’ cute! And I love the binding — sets it off just beautifully! Thanks for the tip – I have to make a bunch of house blocks…..

9 03 2015
Jen Johnston

It is amazing that you can make a “whole quilt” fit in a 13 1/2 inch square! I don’t think I’m ready to go that small yet!!!

9 03 2015
Pamela R

Great look for a small quilt!

10 03 2015
Kim

Love your houses !!

12 03 2015
Brenda E.

Such a unique look for your setting and I like it very much!

Leave a Reply

