Leftover Churn Dash Pieces

11 03 2015

DSCN7093

On March 6 I posted a picture of my “With Help from Friends” quilt.

 True to form, I had scraps and leftovers from the project. And they were all neatly organized by color in this compartmentalized box. Some of the half square triangles and 2″ squares were already kitted into sets of nine – each kit enough to make a “Churn Dash” block.

DSCN7126

Then it suddenly dawned on me that “Friendship Stars” are made with exactly the same pieces “Churn Dashes” are made with!

DSCN7138

So now I am using my leftover “Churn Dash” parts and pieces to make “Friendship Stars.” I haven’t calculated how many stars I can make; I’ll just use up all the half square triangles and squares in my container. “Friendship Stars” is my new leader/ender block.

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 03 2015
dwlcmyers

Aby, do you have the pattern for slice and dice nine patch that you taught in January at TQG workshop for sale? I would like one. I had to be at my little brother’s 50th birthday party that day.

See you at Guild on Sunday.

Thanks, Luann Myers

12 03 2015
quiltiferous

Isn’t that fun, when it works out to make a new block? Love the stars!

11 01 2016
Brown Bag Challenge, Finished! | abyquilts

[…] from squares and HSTs leftover from a Civil War repro “Shoofly” quilt. Click here and here to read the back […]

Leave a Reply

