“Spring Migration” QAL, Introduction

16 03 2015

DSCN7119We’re all a bit weary of snow and ice and cold temperatures. And eagerly, we are looking for signs of spring. Have you noticed flocks of birds flying north from their winter vacation in South America? I’ve seen several contingents of Canadian Geese marshaled around the ponds in my area. To celebrate the spring migration, let’s make a “Goose in the Pond” quilt. Just like we want to speed the arrival of spring, let’s speed our quilt construction by making one 30” patchwork block and surrounding it with several simple borders. The finished size of the quilt is 46″ square.

Here’s how our Quilt-A-Long (QAL) works. Today we’ll talk about selecting fabric. You’ll have a week to rummage in your stash or go shopping for the fabrics and ruler(s) you need. Then, beginning next Monday I’ll post one Step per week. There are five steps total. And if you are so excited about making the quilt you can’t wait for the following Monday’s step, you can find all of the directions on the Patterns page of the blog.

My fabrics for “Spring Migration” are bright and cheerful, perfect for a baby or toddler quilt. I purchased the stripe fabric from Hancock’s several months ago; it’s designed by M’Liss (Rae Hawley). I found a red tone-on-tone and a blue tone-on-tone that coordinate with the stripe, and I added a white-on-white for my backgound fabric.

DSCN7107

 I have several other fabric combinations that I want to try.  How about a group of coordinating pastel fat quarters, or a collection of homespuns, or a cherry print with several greens? It would be interesting to make a totally scrappy quilt perhaps with various floral prints combined with several green tonals and several pink tonals.

DSCN7116

If you’d like to make a smaller quilt as a table topper, simply leave off the borders. I plan to make a table topper with the cherry and green prints.

The rulers you’ll find helpful are 6 1/2″ x 24″ (or 8 1/2″ x 24″), 6 1/2″ square, and an Easy Angle triangle ruler.

Easy Angle Ruler

Easy Angle Ruler

Fabrics: Conservative measurements given; purchase a bit more if you desire a margin for cutting error.

Print – ¾ yd.

Red – 1 yd. for HSTs, Outer Border corner squares, and Binding

Blue – ½ yd.

White – 1 3/8 yd.

DSCN7122Are you game? Do you want to celebrate the Spring Migration with me by making this giant “Goose in the Pond” quilt? If so, leave a comment below . . . and email me a picture of your chosen fabrics.

aby.quilts@gmail.com

 

Actions

Information

5 responses

16 03 2015
csgamble

Looking forward to this one. I’ll look for fabrics tonight.

16 03 2015
Kim

Love your quilt !!

20 03 2015
Brenda E

I have my fabrics picked and am ready to start on Tuesday since I work on Monday!

23 03 2015
connie

Looked for this last week – don’t know how I missed it. Can’t wait to try this pattern. Still working on colors….

23 03 2015
Bibby Moore

I found my fabrics last night and will send a picture today.

Leave a Reply

