Disappearing Four Patch – With a Twist

18 03 2015

It is surprising how many images of quilt designs you can find on-line, in general, and on Pinterest, in particular. On one of my ramblings, I found an intriguing design pinned from a blog. Click here to view the excellent tutorial written by Janet on “What Comes Next?” (round22 blogspot.)

After studying the tutorial, I ordered two packages of colorful 5″ charm squares from Connecting Threads and made 20 blocks. (I would be remiss not to mention my friend Patty who helped with the sewing on a recent retreat. Thanks, Patty!)

Disappearing 4 patch, x block 1

I trimmed the blocks and experimented with various setting ideas. I decided against adding sashing, feeling the design would look more pleasing if the blocks were set side by side. (Janet offers several other setting options on her blog. Check them out.)

Disappearing 4 patch, x block 2

Next, I added a border of off-white to “float” the patchwork blocks, and then a gray striped border.

DSCN7157

In this picture you can see three evidences of spring: blooming Bradford Pear trees, sunshine, and a breeze puffing out the quilt top.

This design was quick, fun, and easy. However, if you are a perfectionist, you will likely be frustrated; it’s difficult to make all the points match exactly. But I daresay you didn’t notice my unmatched points! The color saturated fabrics and the bold diagonal design take center stage. Let me know if you try this twist to a “Disappearing Four Patch.”

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

18 03 2015
Marie Krause

Beautiful quilt! The colors are so vibrant and making them “float”
Makes it even more striking.p

19 03 2015
quiltiferous

This is such a pretty pattern! Janet was my swap partner for a flickr swap many years ago. Her work is lovely!

19 03 2015
Conny

Another lovely one, Aby. I like it very much and thought I might make it, but when I read your sentence about beeing a perfectionist … maybe I shouldn’t …. ;-)))
We wish you could be here right now, the Nürtingen quiltshow is huge and beautiful and your quilts really give it s.th. special. xx

Leave a Reply

