Retirement Gift Quilt

15 04 2015

A star block completeOn Friday my husband and I attended a retirement ceremony for his friend and colleague, Ch. Starnes. At such ceremonies, the retiree is presented an award for service, a commander’s coin, and a folded American flag. To add a personal touch, I decided to make a gift for Mrs. Starnes.

Have you seen the “Star Bright” quilt made with 5″ charm squares offered at craftsy.com? Click here, join craftsy if you are not already a member, and scroll down to the free pattern. “Star Bright” was my inspiration for the quilt for my friend. Instead of using 5″ charm squares, my charming quilt uses one-of-a-kind 2″ squares.

For the star center I found a 3 1/2″ square printed panel of the Psalm 37:4, “Delight yourself in the Lord, and He shall give you the desires of your heart.” I cut out eight navy 3 1/2″ squares and eight gold 2″ squares for “sew-on-the-diagonal and flip” triangles. After making the star points, assembling the squares as a Nine Patch was easy!A star block Snapping a picture of the first border of 2″ squares visually reminded me of their placement. I used my 15″ square ruler as a tray to transport the fabric pieces to my sewing table.

A star block plan

I added two more borders of squares on the right side and at the bottom of the quilt. Having a box of 2″ squares already cut from scraps sped the project along.

A star block row 3

Adding two more rows to the bottom of the quilt finished the asymmetrical arrangement. The wall quilt measures 15 1/2″ x 18 1/2.”

A star block top

For quilting, I selected a gold thread to echo quilt 1/8″ inside the star points and to diagonally cross-hatch the squares. I meandered with navy thread in the background of the star.

A star block hanging sleeve

After sewing single fold navy binding to the front of the quilt, I attached a hemmed hanging sleeve to the back at the top. The raw edge of the sleeve is flush with the raw edge of the trimmed quilt; the hemmed edge is toward the center of the quilt. I machine stitched the raw edge through all layers; the stitching was covered when I hand stitched the binding to the back of the quilt. I hand stitched the hemmed edge of the sleeve and cut a dowel the width of the quilt. To hang the quilt, my friend can pound two small nails into the wall and suspend the dowel on the nails.

A star block with ferns

Congratulations, Chaplain and Mrs. Starnes! May your retirement years be delightful!

Actions

Information

6 responses

15 04 2015
Mary Ed Williams

Aby, you’ve done it again – this is a delightful quilt and what a special gift.

15 04 2015
Maridee

Love this and I, too, have lots of precut squares. When I add a sleeve, I use two pieces with a small gap at the center. Still use a dowel, but now only one nail is needed to balance dowel on. Allows me to change quilts without having to move nails or always having same size quilt.

15 04 2015
Marie Krause

Another way to add a hangar with a project this small is to use 2 squares of fabric and fold them in half diagonally. Then just place them on the top corners and sew them in as you add the binding. Then you can fit the ends of the dowel into each pocket and the added benefit is that you do not have an edge to sew down by hand.

This is really cute and could also be used to display the unit pins and PWOC pins, etc., earned throughout her career. Nice idea!

15 04 2015
quiltiferous

What a neat gift!

15 04 2015
Pam Bonstead

Beautiful. A very special keepsake!

4 07 2015
Happy Independence Day! | abyquilts

[…] bit about the pictured quilt:  It’s a combination of a “Postage Stamp” quilt and “Star Bright” quilt. The squares were cut 1 3/4,” so with 3″ borders the project is only a bit larger than […]

Leave a Reply

