Skinning the Proverbial Cat

17 04 2015

Have you tried “Slice and Dice – Uneven Nine Patch”? The link to the instructions is on my Patterns page.

Slice and Dice, Karlyn 1

My friend, Karlyn, decided to biggie-size the directions to make 12 large blocks for a lap size quilt. She bought 1 yd. each of a cabbage print (Kaffe Fassett), pink tonal, gray print, and purple tonal. Instead of cutting fat quarters into 4″ wide strips as the directions call for, she cut 6 1/2″ wide strips from yardage, selvage to selvage.

Slice and Dice, Karlyn 2

I really loved the color value placement in Karlyn’s quilt: bright large-scale print for the center of the blocks and sashing cornerstones, softer medium values for the rectangles and corner squares of the blocks, and a strong bold tonal for the sashing. I liked the repetition of using the gray print in the border. Karlyn selected a gray spiral print for the backing.

One of the charitable organizaitons I support needs twin size bedding for men, so I scoured JoAnn’s for four manly fabrics to simulate the values in Karlyn’s “Slice and Dice.” I found a fish print for the block centers (1 yd.), a light gray swirl print for the rectangles (1 yd.), a gray/tea/orange print for block corner squares and border (1 1/2 yds.), and a strong teal tonal for the sashing (1 1/2 yds.).

Since Karlyn mentioned that cutting through the biggie-size width of strips sets was a bit unwieldy, I decided to strip piece the “Uneven Nine Patch” blocks instead of following the “Slice and Dice” method.

Fish q - strip pieced

From the fish print, I cut two strips 6 1/2″ x WOF (width of fabric). From the light gray swirl, I cut four strips 3 1/2″ x WOF. After sewing them together and pressing toward the fish print, I cut away the selvages and then cut the two strip sets into twelve 6 1/2″ segments.

fish q - cuts

To make the side rows for the blocks, I cut two strips 6 1/2″ x WOF of the light gray swirl and four strips 3 1/2″ x WOF of the gray/teal/orange print. After sewing them together and pressing toward the print, I cut away the selvages and then cut the two strip sets into twenty-four 3 1/2″ segments. Pinning and sewing the rows of the “Uneven Nine Patches” together was a breeze!

Fish q - blocks

Cutting 3 1/2″ x 12 1/2″ sashing strips and fussy cutting 3 1/2″ square fish-y cornerstones was simple. I laid the 12 blocks out on the floor near my sewing machine, spreading the varieties of pictured fish throughout the quilt.

Fish q - layout

Several hours later, my quilt top was complete.

DSCN7198

I selected a gray print for the backing and binding. In keeping with the aquatic theme, I quilted a freehand water design.

DSCN7197

 So, you see, there is more than one way to skin a cat, er, to make a quilt!

 

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

17 04 2015
Karlyn

Love it Aby! You can make anything fun!!

17 04 2015
Jen Johnston

I love Karlyn’s and I love your manly quilt too Aby!

21 04 2015
Bibby Moore

Great quilt. I love the strong orange/sienna in the middle and the soft grays.

Leave a Reply

