String-Pieced Star Lap Quilt

25 04 2015

How do you use extra string-pieced blocks? I had three lonely 8″ blocks leftover from my “Nancy” quilt. I trimmed the blocks to 7 1/2″ and constructed 14 1/2″ Saw Tooth Star blocks with golden yellow star points and blue tone-on-tone background. I solicited help from my Quilting Circle to make a fourth block and to string-piece a border on paper foundations. My goal was to teach my quilting friends how to string-piece as they helped me finish a charity quilt top. (Thanks, ladies!)

IMG_3634

I tried a new serpentine (wavy) all-over quilt design on my long arm machine. Beginning at the top of the quilt, I free-handed a giant rick-rack style curve from the left edge of the quilt to the right edge. Back and forth I quilted, echoing my initial wave, keeping the lines approximately 1″ apart. I love the texture this design created!

If you try this on a home sewing machine, I suggest drawing (or tracing) a curved with chalk through the center of your quilt. After quilting the chalked curvy line, work outward from the left and the right of the serpentine line of stitching. Keep the stitching lines approxmiately 1″ apart, and don’t stress if the waves aren’t perfectly spaced.

Actions

Information

6 responses

25 04 2015
Jen Johnston

Honored to be a part of it Aby!

25 04 2015
Mary Ed Williams

Love this! And maybe mine will be finished soon…maybe…
Hope to see you Sunday!

25 04 2015
Karlyn

That turned out really cool! I love the quilting! I’m going to have to try this whole idea!

26 04 2015
Heather @ Quilts Actually

im so happy to see it finished! It looks great, and I’m glad I could help finish it up :). I love the wavy quilting, I’m a huge fan of that look and have used it a few times. Looks good!

26 04 2015
Bibby Moore

I think the wavy looks great on the blue. I might just do a blue on blue with the wavy line being the focus of the quilt…try it on a baby quilt first. Thanks

29 04 2015
Brenda E.

Haven’t done a wavy quilting stitch yet and will try soon!

Leave a Reply

