Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Vol. 11 Blog Tour – Day 1

4 05 2015

Today is the first day of the Quiltmaker magazine’s blog tour of the bi-annual publication, Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks from Today’s Top Designers, Vol. 11. A huge thank-you for stopping by to followers of my blog and also to those “just visiting” for the blog tour.

QM 100 blocks vol 11 cover

My block, “Around the Bend,” is #1074, just past the center of the magazine. The pieced block is quick and easy to rotary cut and piece. The “elbows” of bright pink tone-on-tone, light gray background, and pink/gray print gave me the idea for the block’s name.

Around the Bend block

I paired two batik fabrics with a mottled light gray background fabric. The pieces are the same sizes in each quadrant, just colored differently. When you purchase the magazine and locate Block #1074, you’ll see a computer generated layout of 16 quilt blocks. The vibrant pink squares make a bold diagonal statement, criss-crossing over the quilt’s surface.

If you’d like to see the block made in other colors, take a look at my blue sampler quilt. “Just Around the Bend” is in the bottom right corner.

DSCN6390

Quiltmaker invites block designers to submit a quilt make with their blocks. I enlarged “Around the Bend” to make a one block baby/toddler quilt. Adding small squares for a pieced border completes the design.

Around the Bend quilt

Would you like to win a copy of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Vol. 11? If so, leave a comment below and tell me what colors you would use to make the block. The drawing will be on May 9th.

Click the icon below to travel to the Quiltmaker blog; leave a comment to be entered in their give-away. You’ll find a list of links of other featured bloggers on the tour. Spend a few minutes surfing, checking out the other blocks featured today.

joinforblogtour11_200_66326

 

Actions

Information

130 responses

5 05 2015
Cathy B

Reds and Cream. I love your block! Congratulations for having your block in the magazine!

5 05 2015
Jeanne in Ohio

My favorite block so far! I’d love to see it in yellow and blue.

5 05 2015
Donna W

Love your block. I think in shades of my favorite color – green.

5 05 2015
ellenmccaulley

I would do it in shades of blue.

5 05 2015
Darlene

Coral, yellow, matching shade of green.

5 05 2015
dezertsuz

I think I would make the baby quilt size – love that! And I’d make it in blues. Or maybe yellows, so it could be for whichever gender. Thanks for the chance to win.

5 05 2015
Emily C

Love your colors. I would pick blue and purple.

5 05 2015
LoriL

I would love to see it in light and navy blues. Nice filler block.

5 05 2015
Deb

I’d pick purples and greens.

5 05 2015
Loriann

Pink and gray would make an adorable baby girl quilt.

5 05 2015
Rachell Reilly

I would make it in purple and aqua!
reillyr2(at)hotmail(dot)com

6 05 2015
gccmom

I would, most likely, use pink,also! I love pink and so does my daughter.

6 05 2015
Evie H

I’m not sure, but I think I would use tones of coral with aqua. I’ll have to check my stash. I love your block!

6 05 2015
kthurn

Very nice simple block which gives a lot of wow factor. I think I’d make it in yellows and oranges. kthurn@bektel.com

6 05 2015
craftygramma

I love the baby quilt! You used my favs, but I could also go pink/yellow/orange for a girl and/or yellow/grey for my newest grandson’s nursery.

6 05 2015
Kim

Most likely I’d use green and blue together, but there must be red someplace on the quilt.
Kim
tnjmom1 at gmail dot com

6 05 2015
Linda

Lavender and purple!

7 05 2015
Lisa E

I would pick orange and navy.

7 05 2015
Jen B

I’d use red and cream.

7 05 2015
Joan Ross

I enjoyed looking at your special block, but didn’t find a place to say that to the organizers of this project. I bought my first 100 block mag. Recently to use it for a quilt project in my guild. I was happy to see your name and block. When we were at the Presidio, early 1990’s I was in your small quilt group. Good memories. Joan Ross

Sent from my iPhone

>

7 05 2015
Emilee

Totally scrappy with all different colors and a grey background!

7 05 2015
buntyw

I’d use blues!

7 05 2015
Diane

I love the large block for a baby quilt.

7 05 2015
Meg

I like your color choices for this block, I am partial to batiks and this us a great block to show them off.

8 05 2015
Debbie P

This is a great block to use for many different colorways! I would use different shades of aqua and green.

8 05 2015
Doris McCarty

Oh, i like the pinks.

8 05 2015
Chris P

Purples would be my choice. From lavender to the deepest, so many choices.

8 05 2015
Janine Baldwin

I like the diagonal pattern the block makes!

8 05 2015
Maureen H

I would make it in blues and greenw

9 05 2015
ksl5343

I like the pinks. Looks great – and seems like it would be fun to make. kathleendotlutzatcomcastdotnet

Leave a Reply

