“A Different Path” Finished!

13 05 2015
"A Different Path"

“A Different Path”

My rendition of “A Different Path,” designed by Kathie Holland and published in the Oct./Nov. 2013 issue of American Patchwork and Quilting is finished. Pieced, Quilted, Bound, and Labeled! You can read about the beginning of this quilt project here and here.

I elected to quilt the “Double Plume” pantograph by Keryn Emmerson and used a Magnifico Honey Gold thread on the top with light tan bobbin thread.

DSCN7377

Since the backing, leftover from another project, was not quite large enough, I increased the size by adding a column of sashed 12″ blocks. I had previously thought of using these blocks to make a sampler quilt with Civil War repro fabrics, but that project did not materialize. Better to use the blocks as backing art for “A Different Path” than to consign them to the orphan block bin!

I am very pleased with this twin sized quilt, and I’m thankful to my seven friends who exchanged blocks with me for ultimate scrappiness!

DSCN7373

Actions

Information

7 responses

13 05 2015
Chris

Just beautiful, front and back!!!

13 05 2015
Mary Ed Williams

Just gorgeous! Love the colors and setting – and the back is perfect.

13 05 2015
Diane

Great idea for those blocks I haven’t used, and keep thinking I have to make something from. Makes a beautiful back!

13 05 2015
creaturecomfortquilts

Great front, really great back with those blocks to extend your fabric. A lovely quilt overall!

13 05 2015
Jen Johnston

Looks awesome Aby! Especially love using up some orphan blocks on the back!

13 05 2015
Marie Krause

Love yours and was glad I participated in this because I love mine as well!

15 05 2015
Lori

Beautiful Aby!!

Leave a Reply

