Celebrations

1 06 2015

My word for the year is “Celebrate,” and I have some celebratory news to share with you!

First of all, Ran and I celebrated 35 years of marriage on Sunday! Secondly, he is officially retired from the Army after 29 years and 7 months of service. Thirdly, the bulldozer has knocked down a pile of pines in preparation for a shop (“man cavern”) and new home.

And since it is June 1st, I’m celebrating the arrival of hot weather with a summer-long quilting project. I’m committing to work on “Crabapples” from Bonnie Hunter’s book, Adventures with Leaders & Enders.

DSCN7395

Are you celebrating summertime with an ongoing quilting project?

Actions

Information

9 responses

1 06 2015
Marie Krause

Yes,
I am working on my Blue and white “99 Bottles” quilt from Joan Ford’s Scraptherapy book, “Scraps Plus One!”. I have to make lots of 9 patches using 1″ squares and then use them to make more 9 patches using those small ones and 2″ blue squares. I have managed to do enough for 3 + fiinished blocks but I still need 8+ more blocks to make my quilt. Not sure it will even get finished over the summer but I will try!

1 06 2015
Jen Johnston

My summer project is moving. :/ I’d rather be sewing with you Aby!!!

1 06 2015
Patti Hyder

Congratulations on anniversary and retirement! May your house building go smoothly!

2 06 2015
Ilse

congratutations and happy celebrations, Aby!

2 06 2015
csgamble

Congrats on all accounts! Where will this new home be located? I have also been eyeing Crabapples and hope to use the scraps from my Irish chain. First, baby quilts by July!

2 06 2015
csgamble

BTW, on the Crabapples, are you chain piecing 1 1/2″ squares or strip piecing?

2 06 2015
Mary Ed Williams

Congratulations, Aby, I’m sure that you more than deserve your new adventures.
Where is your new house? Close by, I hope.

3 06 2015
Brenda E.

So much to be thankful for and welcome to the “35” club! We became members last November. I will be starting another Bonnie quilt in August, Patches & Pinwheels.

6 06 2015
quiltiferous

Congratulations! Hubby and I will celebrate 21 years this summer. My project for the summer is to get all my enrollment stuff done for college! =}

Leave a Reply

