Quilting Class for Kids, Part 2

16 07 2015

During the month of July, I am teaching 8 to 13 year-old girls about patchwork design during the women’s Bible study at Fort Bragg. I’m combining a Bible story lesson with design ideas via traditional blocks named for Bible stories. Last week, we looked at “The Garden of Eden.” This week, we talked about “Jacob’s Ladder.”

DSCN7478

Besides learning about Jacob’s vision of a ladder reaching from earth to heaven with descending and ascending angels and God’s promises to Jacob, the girls put together construction paper puzzles of the block. I encouraged them to experiment with the shapes prior to showing them the tradional “Jacob’s Ladder” block. This design has possibilities!

Paper puzzle

Another activity was designing a placemat with 35 squares from my 3″ square bin of scraps. (After 20 girls rummaged in the bin, it now contains mostly dark “ugly” fabrics!) I asked the girls to attach each square to a sheet of newsprint with a dab of washable glue.

DSCN7474

My job is carefully removing the squares and sewing them  in the proper order into placemat tops. If you live locally and have time to help me with the sewing, give me a call!

Actions

Information

5 responses

16 07 2015
Jennifer Johnston

Wish I could be there to help Aby!

17 07 2015
Kim

Wish I could help you !!

18 07 2015
Patti Hyder

I like your teaching ideas, I wonder if you’d be willing to share your lessons, so I could maybe do something like this with my grandkids?

26 07 2015
Quilting Class for Kids, Part 3 | abyquilts

[…] During the month of July, I am teaching 8 to 13 year-old children about patchwork design during the women’s Bible study at Fort Bragg. I’m combining a Bible story lesson with design ideas via traditional blocks named for Bible stories. Read about Week 1 here and Week 2 here. […]

27 04 2016
Civil War Repro. Sampler | abyquilts

[…] 4 blocks that I made this past summer in the quilt design class for children:  Garden of Eden, Jacob’s Ladder, Star of Bethlehem, and Cross and Crowns. I added 8 more favorite block designs to bring the quilt […]

Leave a Reply

