Cooperative Wedding Gift

24 08 2015

DSCN7524

In January my nephew Paul married his sweetheart Cori. Monique, a family friend, and I both wanted to make them a wedding quilt. So we struck a bargain, Monique would make the top and I would quilt and bind it.

 

Monique purchased lovely Civil War reproduction fabrics, cut 2 1/2″ strips, and made “Roman Stripe” blocks. She pressed rectangles of freezer paper on the back of the light center strips to stabilize them for signing. At the wedding reception, Monique set up a block signing table, providing several colors of fine point fabric markers.

 DSCN7527

Attendees were encouraged to sign blocks given the following instructions:  “Please help Paul and Cori remember their wedding day by signing a quilt square. You can also write a brief message. Important! Use only the pens provided. Sign on the cream part, ¼” away from the edges.”

 DSCN7525

After assembling the blocks and adding borders, Monique transferred the quilt top to me for finishing. I selected off-white thread and a concentric teardrop freehand, all-over design. I admit it, I was nosey and read many of the inscriptions as I quilted. Some artistic guests drew pictures or geometric designs as well.

The quilt will be a beautiful remembrance of Cori and Paul’s wedding day and of all their friends who wish them well. It was fun to collaborate with Monique on our cooperative wedding gift.

If you have made a signature quilt for a gift, please comment with additional tips on the process.

 

Actions

Information

6 responses

24 08 2015
farmquilter

I did this for my step-daughter’s wedding, my in-law’s 50th anniversary and my daughter’s wedding. I have the blocks made for my step-son’s wedding in October. Only hint I have is to make sure you set the ink from the pens (assuming they are Pigma) with the iron before you wash the quilt. I did not wash any of the quilts before I gifted them – the first two are wall hangings, the one for my daughter is a lap quilt and the only one I expect to be washed. It is a great way to remember who was at the wedding – how often do you look at your wedding book that everyone signed? I have never looked at mine and I know that the quilt and wall hangings will be looked at often.

One hint is to not make the part to be signed very big – you don’t want to quilt over the signatures and you don’t want the batting to shift either. I really like the delectable mountain pattern for signature blocks because there are so many ways to put them together. I ironed freezer paper to the backs of the blocks and had photo mats made the size of the blocks minus 1/2″ to keep the seam allowance empty – just tape the blocks to the mats for signing.

24 08 2015
Diane

Do you make the blocks 6.5 inches wide? So each block has three 2.5 inch strip by 6.5? I’m new at this and want to make up some blocks quickly for a wedding. For a lap quilt, I’m thinking 8 blocks by 8 blocks and a border. I need simple and quick. Since I would be taking the blocks to the wedding, it would be doable. Then I can put it together after the wedding.

Thanks for your help.

24 08 2015
Patti Hyder

That is such a beautiful idea! I have my SQU blocks from when I moved, haven’t put together yet. Years ago, before seminary, at a church we were attending, the congregation gave the pastor and wife a signed quilt as a going-away gift. I’ve always thought that would be a wonderful thing! Never got one. 😦

24 08 2015
Jennifer Johnston

What a special gift!

24 08 2015
Jennifer Johnston

What makes them Roman Stripe verses Rail Fence?

26 08 2015
Jennifer Johnston

Thank you for the detailed answer! Makes sense to me. I really like the weaving effect!

Leave a Reply

