Stretch Break

31 08 2015

There we were, barreling down I-20, enroute from Dallas, Texas to Tallasee, Alabama, the longest driving day of our return trip home. While hubby drove, I browsed the internet for “Quilt Shops in Louisiana.” I came upon a concise, alphabetical list by city. Determining that we would reach Monroe about the time we’d need to refuel, I compared my atlas with the online maps and descriptions of the quilt shops. I ascertained that Monroe is a sizeable city with at least three shops, none of which seemed particularly easy off/on the interstate. So I set my sights on Ruston, a smaller town with a shop just a mile off I-20.

DSCN7597

Hubby agreed we could use a stretch break, so we navigated to The Fabric Shop at 100 W. Park Ave. in Ruston. Ran chatted with the owner’s husband while I surveyed the fabrics and quilt samples. Besides some dressmaking  and Louisiana team prints, the store boasts lots of juvenile prints, several rows of bright prints and batiks, some Civil War reproduction prints, some pre-cuts, and a Noah’s Ark row for this year’s Row by Row experience.

DSCN7601

Hubby and I were both glad we spent our morning stretch break in The Fabric Shop!

What about you? Have you taken a stretch break at a quilt shop while traveling this summer?

 

Actions

Information

One response

1 09 2015
Brenda E.

In June we had a bus trip to Rapid City, South Dakota for a convention. After a two day ride i was ready when the bus pulled up to our hotel which was only one block from a quilt shop.(I had checked on shops before I left and they gave an address that was close so I googled it and saw the hotel in the street view.) I was in the shop within 15 minutes and had a half hour to browse and it was a great!

Leave a Reply

