“Scrappy Trips Around the World” Finished

18 09 2015

Scrappy Trips front

My rendition of “Scrappy Trips Around the World,” designed by Bonnie Hunter is finished: quilted, bound, and labeled. It is a gift for Sarah, younger sister of Keona and Kalea whose quilts you’ve read about recently on this blog.

I have been saving 2 1/2″ strips for several years for just such a project. Some were leftover Jelly Roll strips, some were trimmed from quilt backs after quilting, some were scraps from yardage. Additionally, I asked Sarah to choose about 20 fabrics from my stash that she especially liked. I purchased a splashy floral print for the backing and quilted an all-over “Dwirling” with spirals design with variegated thread. Lime green, which coordinates with both the back and the front, finishes off the edges.

You can find instructions for the quilt here on Bonnie’s blog, quiltville.blogspot.com. The various fabrics and colors form interesting patterns and sometimes unexpected intersections as they march diagonally across the quilt. Thanks, Alicia, for helping to arrange the blocks so pleasingly! I really enjoyed making this quilt, and I would definitely make another. But first I have to save up more 2 1/2″ strips since most of the fun, bright fabrics were used in this project.

Actions

Information

5 responses

18 09 2015
Mary Ed Williams

Yummy!!

18 09 2015
Lauri D

What a great idea for the scraps..it’s beautiful, Aby

19 09 2015
Kelly

Beautiful!!!

Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

19 09 2015
quiltiferous

I love how it came out!

20 09 2015
Jennifer Johnston

I really like this take on the traditional Trip Around The World quilt! Looks fun to make!

Leave a Reply

