“Crabapples” Finished!

23 09 2015

IMG_3647Let’s celebrate Fall with a quilt finish! (I had forgotten that “celebrate” is my word for the year. It’s time to insert that word into my thoughts again!)

You can read other posts about this summer-long project by typing “crabapples” in the Search box in the upper right corner of this blog page. Suffice it to say, this has been a fun project which used lots of itty-bitty scraps, “Nine Patches” from a guild exchange, and yardage of favorite fabrics. The quilt was designed by Bonnie Hunter and published in her book, Adventures with Leaders and Enders.

I quilted heart-shaped leaves with gold thread in an all-over, freehand design. This quilt will live on my sofa as a daily reminder to celebrate Autumn! I, for one, am happy for cooler temperatures and look forward to colorful foliage in my neighborhood.

IMG_3650

Hmmmm, what shall be my Fall quilting project? Any suggestions?

Actions

Information

6 responses

23 09 2015
Jennifer Johnston

I really like this quilt Aby! The block is so fun! So impressed that you have another project finished!!

23 09 2015
Pam Bonstead

So beautiful, Aby!

23 09 2015
Mary Ed Williams

Another fabulous fall quilt. Your color choices are great.

24 09 2015
quiltiferous

Your “crabapples” are lovely!

10 11 2015
Lauri D

Wow, this is soooo pretty, Aby…. I’d like to make this one some day

30 12 2015
Is It Spring Yet? | abyquilts

[…] The brown bag challenge was to use both prints, randomly drawn, in the same quilt. I thought about adding a very narrow accent border of the muted fabric to the Morning Glory Star quilt, but I just couldn’t. The print is too large with various colors, and the shaded tones will not look right with the clear blue and yellow. The only way to use these two fabrics in the same quilt successfully is to make a very scrappy quilt which contains true and muted colors. If you look very carefully, you might find both fabrics in the Nine Patch border of my “Crabapples” quilt. (Read more about this project, designed by Bonnie Hunter, here.) […]

Leave a Reply

