Revisiting “Charmville”

5 10 2015

While tidying my sewing space, I found a house block leftover from making “Charmville” blocks in various sizes. The original quilt was published in the February/March 2014 issue of McCall’s Quick Quilts.

Cover-QQ Feb March

You can read all the blog posts about “Charmville” by typing “Charmville” in the Search box in the top right corner of the side bar. During the Quilt-A-Long, I made a sample block using 2 1/2″ squares, and that’s the one I found recently.

IMG_3661I decided to make 8 more house blocks and sew all nine into a baby quilt. To make each block, I raided my container of scrappy 2 1/2″ squares to find 8 squares of the same color plus a yellow for the window. I sewed 2″ wide light blue strips to the sides of the resulting “Nine Patches” prior to attaching the roofs. The roofs are giant “Flying Geese” units measuring 5″ x 9 1/2,” unfinished. Additional light blue strips separate the houses, and a black print, representing streets, separates the rows. Orange tonal fabric makes a perky border, and I used Quiltmaker’s September Bitty Blocks of “Saw Tooth Stars,” mentioned in a previous blog, for corners in the border.

A simple all-over quilting design in light blue thread adds texture to the interior of the quilt while orange thread blends with the border. I quilted black loops in the black “street” strips. A black and white zigzag print binding completes the project.

IMG_3662

Making the “Flying Geese” roofs for the houses by the “one rectangle, two squares” method, produced a bunch of bonus triangles. Sewn together in a row, they add interest to the quilt back.

IMG_3663

Have you found an abandoned project recently and been inspired to work on it again?

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 10 2015
Jennifer Johnston

So darling Aby!

6 10 2015
Diane

One lonely block and you make a new variation on Quiltville. I might need to try this version. It has caught my interest.

6 10 2015
quiltiferous

Lovely! I’m sashing my Tula Pink City Sampler quilt, finally!

Leave a Reply

