“Tumblers” Progress Report

9 10 2015

Have you noticed the picture of an antique “Tumblers” quilt in the blog sidebar? If you click the picture, you’ll travel to Bonnie Hunter’s blog post which explains her current Leader/Ender challenge. The idea is to sew tumbler shapes together between piecing other quilting projects to keep the chain piecing going. Having a secondary project to work on saves me oodles of time and thread. You can read about the beginning of my “Tumblers” project here.

IMG_3670

I thought you’d like to see the progress I’ve made over the summer. Besides using the tumblers as Leaders and Enders while machine sewing, I hand pieced darks and lights together in two-sies on our road trip to Texas in August. Recently I looked in my project box and realized it contained quite a few completed rows, so I decided to pin them to my design wall. Wow, I have completed more than I thought I had! 

I plan to swap some of the rows to balance the colors throughout the quilt. And you can see that I need to lengthen several of the rows with more tumblers. Of course, I need to make 10 or 15 more rows. My Cheryl Ann portable design wall is an invaluable tool, helping me gauge width and length of the quilt as well as color placement! Seeing a project on the design wall is a reminder to work on it a little each day. Conversely, by keeping the project in a box, I might forget about it entirely. Perhaps “Tumblers” will be my Fall sewing project just as “Crabapples” was my summer sewing/quilting project.

Are you participating in Bonnie’s “Tumblers” Leader/Ender challenge? Or are you working on a different Leader/Ender project?

Actions

Information

5 responses

9 10 2015
Marge

Love the scrappy tumblers. Hmmm…might have to do that since I have the 5″ template and many charms. Thanks.

9 10 2015
Jennifer Johnston

That is a lot of tumblers!! Wow!

10 10 2015
quiltiferous

Leaders and enders are so much fun! Your tumblers are lovely! It looks as though you’ll finish this one soon! =}

13 10 2015
Brenda E.

I plan on starting with the tumblers when BH mystery starts end of Nov. Have been doing Idaho Square Dance blocks and need just a few more.

14 10 2015
Karlene

Wow, you are really getting a lot done.

Leave a Reply

