Quilts Plus

13 10 2015

IMG_20151009_150220_444Last week I visited my friends, the Tuckers, who live in a small town south of Indianapolis, IN. Julia felt that Friday would be the optimum day to visit Quilts Plus in north Indianapolis. But I was loathe to ask her three children (ages 2, 3, and 5) to ride 45 minutes in the car, and then to “be good” in a fabric store while I browsed, and then to ride 45 minutes home. So we planned some fun activities for them in the morning like picking apples and pumpkins at an orchard, and playing on the playground, and exploring the old train station turned convention center and hotel in downtown Indy, and having lunch at P. F. Chang’s. We wound up at Quilts Plus in the early afternoon. What a wonderful shop, chock full of fabrics, books, patterns, kits, and samples! Of course, I was drawn to the Civil War repro fabrics . . . their stock of shirtings is phenomenal, and I also spotted newly released collections in favorite, rich prints.

IMG_20151009_144054_471In addition, there’s a wool corner with exquisite samples. Quilts Plus offers juvenile prints and bright, contemporary lines as well. I purchased a “For You” Jelly Roll with coordinating yardage. I can’t wait to unroll it and begin sewing the project that’s been percolating in my brain.

If your travels take you to Indianapolis, be sure to plan a side trip to Quilts Plus, 1748 East 86th St., Indianapolis, IN  46240. Check out their website www.quiltsplus.com and facebook page. The friendly clerks are happy to mail order, too.

Actions

Information

4 responses

13 10 2015
Jennifer Johnston

Aby, do you purchase fabric at each quilt shop you visit? I’m hoping you do…..so that I can purchase fabric at each shop I visit “because my friend Aby does!”

14 10 2015
Karlene

Looks like a good place to visit.

15 10 2015
quiltiferous

What a pretty shop! Thanks for including us in your travels!

3 04 2017
Second Quarter Challenge – Introduction | abyquilts

[…] a sketch and stored it with the fabric. Ah, well, there is more than one way to use a jelly roll! (Click here to read about my visit to Quilts […]

Leave a Reply

