“Snowflake” QAL – Step 2

2 11 2015

I am participating in the “Snowflake” Quilt A-Long designed by Faith Jones (who blogs at freshlemonsquilts.com) for Bernina’s blog weallsew.com. Today the second step was posted. Click here to link to Bernina’s blog.

I sewed 20 blocks last week for the QAL and posted a picture here. Over the weekend I had a few hours to spend in my sewing room, and I completed the 14 alternate blocks pictured below.

IMG_3692

The next step is placing the blocks on my design wall. Faith recommends double checking the placement before sewing the blocks together. Sometimes it is easier to see that a block is turned incorrectly by looking through a camera lens. 

IMG_3693

This week my goal will be cutting and placing the squares and setting triangles on the design wall. If you are Quilting A-Long, please comment below about your progress.

If you haven’t yet committed to participating in the QAL, I urge you to try it. The blocks are simple and quick to make, yet the lay-out lends a sophisticated air to the design!

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 11 2015
Marie Krause

I have the pieces cut to make all the blocks and have sewed 10 of the block As together. I am not sure what I can finish this week because we are having beautiful weather and I need to get yard work done. We’ ll see!

2 11 2015
Jennifer Johnston

Looks great so far Aby!!

8 11 2015
Bibby Moore

I am making the quilt and have cut out most of the pieces. I am using what I have the most of teal and orange/coral colors. I bought a beige/white for the background. I am busy making bags and will piece this together when I finish the bags. As always, thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

