“Tumblers” Quilt Finished!

4 11 2015

Tumblers quiltI am so excited . . . my “Tumblers” quilt is finished! Two quilting friends motivated me to make this quilt. First, Bonnie Hunter, who sponsored a Quilt A-Long at her blog quiltville.blogspot.com. Click on the picture of a vintage “Tumblers” quilt on the right-hand sidebar. This links you to her explanatory blog post; it’s not too late to join the fun. My second motivator was Karlene who, along with her grandson, cut out all my “Tumblers” shapes with her AccuQuilt GO! fabric cutter. Karlene also graciously shared her fabrics with me. Thanks, ladies!

Before loading my quilt on the longarm machine, I did not trim the jagged edges. I trimmed them after quilting as I squared up the quilt in preparation for binding.

IMG_20151029_071105_188 (1)

I deliberated about the quilting design. Since the quilt is quite busy with very blendy colors for the most part, a complicated design would not be noticed, so I decided to meander in gold thread. I raided my stash for the binding, selecting three fat quarters of a gold print that I purchased for $1 each years ago at a quilt show.

Pressing Hint: If you make “Tumblers,” alternating light and dark fabrics in each row as I did, press the seam allowances toward the dark “Tumblers.” When joining the rows, the seams will nest quite nicely. I pinned at each seam allowance intersection which is a bit time consuming, but the results are worth the tedium.

Actions

Information

6 responses

4 11 2015
Pam Bonstead

Aby, that is really beautiful. 🙂

4 11 2015
Marge

Looks like I will be cutting 5″ tumblers today. I sew out in another bldg. that has no heat for winter so I make up kits to sew during winter months in the house. This is a good one, no cutting after sewed tog. Now to figure out how many I’ll need for a nice throw. Thanks for the idea!

4 11 2015
Marie Krause

I love it! Do you get to keep it?

4 11 2015
Diane

I love it!

5 11 2015
Blue.Ridge.Girl@ShadowsoftheBlueRidge

Aby I love how your tumblers quilt turned out. This quilt pattern is absolutely one I want to make some day!

10 11 2015
Lauri D

This tumbler quilt is another one to challenge one day. What is the final size and about how many tumblers do you think you cut to make this beautiful quilt?

Leave a Reply

