Quiltmaker Blog Tour – “Inside Out”

18 11 2015

Welcome guests and followers to Day 3 of Quiltmaker’s blog tour for the latest Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks from Today’s Top Designers. As in the foregoing 11 volumes of this specialty magazine, vol. 12 contains awesome blocks from simple to challenging. The techniques vary from applique, to mixed technique, to foundation pieced and to pieced. You will want to add vol. 12 to your collection. It contains so many ingenious and colorful blocks to serve as inspiration for your future quilt projects. (Click the magazine cover below to link to a listing of all 100 Blocks publications.)

QM1550-COVER-125px

I feel so honored that my pieced block, “Inside Out,” is included in vol. 12!  It is block #1173 on page 45. In designing this block, I experimented with reversing the coloration in the quadrants of the block. If you notice, the quadrants diagonally opposite each other are colored the same. To tone down the high contrast of red and white, I thought of adding the currently popular neutral – gray. However, I wasn’t totally pleased with the first block I made; the gray is too light.

IMG_3707

Back to the fabric store I went and found a darker gray with some round textural elements. I like this coloration much better. The diamond formed by the triangles is more pronounced and adds visual interest.

QM1550-DOLI

Another idea for using this block is making the diamond element of the block a black and white print and replacing red with various bright colors.

I hope you enjoy making blocks from vol. 12, and if you try “Inside Out,” please send me a picture of your block or quilt.

If you’d like to win a copy of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, vol. 12, leave a comment below. Tell me how you would (or did) use gray in a quilt block. I’ll select 3 winners and contact them by email on 30 November.

Clicking the green circular button links you to quiltypleasures.com, Quiltmaker’s blog, where you’ll find links to other designers on Day 3 of the blog tour. Remember to register for prizes on all the blogs you visit.

joinforblogtour12_200

Actions

Information

95 responses

18 11 2015
Kathy h

I really like the grey in your block but haven’t used it much in my quilts. I used some for a winter wall hanging.

18 11 2015
Bonnie

Love your Inside Out block! I have not yet used grey in my quilts, but it looks great in your block.

18 11 2015
JoyceLM

I’ve been collecting grey fabrics to make a quilt for my niece. So they will compose most of the quilt, and I’ll add a neutral (cream maybe) and a pop of color (thinking turquoise). Thanks.

18 11 2015
Cecilia

Great block! I’ve used gray with pink in a star block and my quilt turned out gorgeous. I’ve also used gray along with black, red, and ivory. That combination also made a gorgeous quilt.

18 11 2015
Dee

Love using grey as neutral and notice it alot in the modern quilt movement

18 11 2015
Nann

Great block! I am partial to adaptations of traditional blocks. I find that gray adds a soft-but-not-bland contrast. . . I think I need to augment that section of my stash!

18 11 2015
Jeanne in Ohio

I’m working on an orange and gray kaleidoscope quilt.

18 11 2015
Nell

I haven’t used grey in a quilt myself but the guild block of the month uses grey so am making a few to be used in our Comfort Quilts.

18 11 2015
MoeWest

I like your block! I have grey and red Christmas fabric that I could make this with. I used grey with yellow in a wedding ring runner.

18 11 2015
Joyce Carter

I love your block. I think it would make a gorgeous red and white quilt. Thanks for the giveaway. I am not a big fan of Grey and don’t use it. If I needed to, I would probably use it as the background.

18 11 2015
Joye

I have used grey as a background neutral

18 11 2015
Linda Christianson

I used dark grey with yellow border in Bonnie Hunter 2014 mystery quilt last year and accent through out the quilt with the green squares.

18 11 2015
duchick

I use gray often when I’m creating blocks. It just seems to coordinate so easily with other colors. I made a tote bag with various blocks using the colors purple, lime green and gray. It was very striking when finished and I’d do it again for sure! duchick at gmail dot com

18 11 2015
marta

I haven’t used gray too much,I will try in future projects..thank you …marta

18 11 2015
Linda

I’ve used grey for billowing smoke, backgrounds, to help brighter colors pop!

18 11 2015
Beth T.

I have used both dark gray and light gray as solids, in place of white or cream, in several quilts, and really like the way it shakes things up. I need to try using it in a more “isolated” way, as in your example, where it would have more pop.

18 11 2015
Joy

I recently made a quilt using all solid colors. I used a medium gray as the background fabric. Loved it.

18 11 2015
Elaine M.

Grey would make a great background for a dusty rose main colour. In fact, it would make almost any colour “pop”!

18 11 2015
Carolyn S

Have not used gray on a quilt yet, but have seen it used successfully on several quilts.

18 11 2015
Judy

I have used gray with red, whites and black. Jelly roll quilt. Fast and fun!

18 11 2015
Judy

I used gray in a quilt with red, white and black. College colors

19 11 2015
Donna Minter

I am making a bargello with shades of grays from charcoal to pale gray and pinks from cranberry to almost white.

19 11 2015
Bella

I am imagining a deep navy against a soft light blue against a light gray background.

19 11 2015
Pamela R

I’m behind the times and haven’t done much with grey but have a few ideas.

19 11 2015
Julie in WA

I made a baby quilt for my niece, using grey, purple, and yellow. It turned out beautiful!

19 11 2015
Nancy R

I love greyb in quilts. It can really make a pretty color like purple or red pop.

19 11 2015
Nicole Sender

I’ve used some gray in a 4 patch scrappy quilt that I’ve been sewing. Great block!

19 11 2015
Carol W

I made a bright pastel quilt with a white background, and now I’m making the same quilt with a gray background. I love to see the difference that changing one aspect makes!

19 11 2015
Chris

I’m not a gray person but it is working for you in this block.

19 11 2015
Nancy

I love all the quilt maker 100 block books. Thanks for the giveaway!

19 11 2015
ksl5343

I have never used gray, but I really like the interest it added to your block. Thank you for reminding me to explore all of the options. kathleendotlutzatcomcastdotnet

19 11 2015
Carrie

I usually use gray as the background fabric. Great block.

19 11 2015
Deborah B.

I used some gray batik in a hunter’s star block swap a while back. More recently, I just bought some gray to be used in a mystery quilt…I cannot wait to see how it turns out. I love how your block looks with the gray as a contrast to the red. Thank you for sharing.

19 11 2015
kthurn

According to my interior design daughter, gray is the new color. I am starting to use more of it combined with one or two bright colors such as orange or blazing yellow. kthurn@bektel.com

19 11 2015
Madeline

havent used gray yet, dont know that I will, it’s probably my least favorite color. but would only use it as background for a scrap quilt because the colors would perk it up

19 11 2015
Dawn Tornes

I have used gray as my background fabric and also in piecing. I am in love with a good gray!

19 11 2015
Diane O

Love using gray in quilts, it is an awesome addition. Thanks

19 11 2015
Kris S

I haven’t used gray in quilts before. I can see how the medium gray gives great contrast in your block. I could definitely see making your block.

19 11 2015
Liz engman

I would use gray with “hot” colors–like pink or watermelon or aqua or lime green–or just various shades of grey

20 11 2015
Nancysue

To me, I think grey is hard to use. When I want it on the white side it reads blue, when I want it on the blue side, it reads dirty… I’ve used it mostly on bindings when I don’t want the edge to pop… ie… when I have really screwed up a quilt edge! 🙂

21 11 2015
Marie

I’m planning a pink and gray quilt for my granddaughter.

21 11 2015
kathy pfaltzgraff

How interesting to see how the different colors work together. Kathy in Colo

22 11 2015
quiltiferous

Your design is so beautiful!

22 11 2015
Deb

I don’t think I’ve ever used grey in a quilt, but I do think it’s a very classy color. I’d probably use it as sashing.

24 11 2015
JessZ

I am making a quilt with various shades of grey, orange, yellows, greens, and blues for my husband at the moment. It’s bright, but soft and subtle.

Leave a Reply

