Quiltmaker’s Bitty Blocks – November

2 12 2015

Each month of this year, Quiltmaker magazine editors have posted a tutorial for a miniature quilt block. November’s block, written by Carolyn Beam, is “Friendship Star.” The block finishes at 3″ square. Click here to link to the Quilty Pleasures blog to see Carolyn’s very cute star blocks.

I’m thinking I could use all the triangles cut from joining quilt binding that I’ve piled up behind my sewing machine to make Bitty “Friendship Stars.”

IMG_3714

IMG_3715Since I usually cut binding strips 2 1/2″ wide and join them diagonally, the colorful “waste” triangles, once sewn to light background triangles, can be trimmed to 1 1/2″ with room to spare. It was fun to rummage in my box of scrappy 1 1/2″ squares to find contrasting prints for the centers and 4 matching white squares for the corners of each block.

IMG_3716As per Carolyn’s instructions on the Quilty Pleasures blog, my “Friendship Star” blocks measured 3 1/2″ unfinished. Then inspiration struck . . . these patchwork blocks would make darling Christmas tree ornaments or package name tags! To that end, I cut 3 1/2″ squares of batting for each block and 5″ squares of backing fabric. Looking closely at the photo, you can see that I ironed under 1/4″ all around the 5″ red backing square. After placing the batting and star block on top of the wrong side of the backing, I folded over the pressed edges to the right sides of the block and machine top-stitched with coordinating thread. This method makes a narrow back-to-front binding. To make hangers, I cut 8″ lengths of ribbon, folded them and hand stitched them to the backs of the ornaments.

IMG_3718

Are you inspired to make Bitty “Friendship Star” ornaments? (Let me know if you need some tiny triangles; I am sure I can find 4 that match in the pile behind my sewing machine!)

 

Actions

Information

5 responses

2 12 2015
Jennifer Johnston

What a funny way to come up with your fabrics! Such a frugal sewer….no waste!

2 12 2015
farmquilter

Great way to use scraps! I save those triangles too, but I sew them into HSTs and put them in my HST box!

3 12 2015
Kim

Wonderful Christmas present !

3 12 2015
darladolinger

Aby knowing how beautiful  all your quilts are, I am sure this Bitty Block will be a very good way to use up all those little peaces and will also be beautiful. Darla

Sent from my Galaxy Tab® A

5 12 2015
Karlene

Very cute idea!

Leave a Reply

