“Tumalo Trail” – a Beginning

7 12 2015

“Tumalo Trail,” designed by Bonnie Hunter and published in Scraps & Shirttails II, has long been on my quilt wanna-make list. Click here to see a picture of Bonnie’s quilt and peruse her class supply list. By a close reading of the list, you can tell that the “Nine Patches” are composed of 1 1/2″ squares. Since I have another project in mind for my 1 1/2″ squares, I opted to make my “Nine Patches” of 2″ blocks. What a fun way to use all those one-of-a-kind squares languishing in my 2″ squares bin!

IMG_3717

Once the “Nine Patches” were underway as Leaders/Enders for my other sewing projects, I began considering fabrics for the Half Square Triangles. Although I really like the pops of orange fabric Bonnie used in her quilt, I couldn’t think of other colors I wanted to use with orange. Shelving the orange idea, I thought perhaps black triangles might themselves recede yet help the scrappy colors of the “Nine Patches” to shine. Solid black would be too stark, in my opinion. After auditioning several black prints, I settled on a vintage black print with pink rosebuds and white dots. Incidentally, this fabric was a partially made skirt from my grandmother’s/mother’s stash. Anticipating my need for handwork on our Thanksgiving trip to Florida, I cut 25 pairs of triangles and tucked them in my stitchery bag. On the trip, I marked a 1/4″ seam line and hand sewed tiny stitches with doubled thread. Having a hand project helped this quilter feel productive during our lengthy car trip.

I’m planning to make 12 or 16 blocks using the same black print paired with an ecru tone-on-tone for all the HSTs. “Tumalo Trail” will be my scrappy quilt project this winter. I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

Click here to link to Bonnie Hunter’s shop if you’d like to order Scraps & Shirttails II or any of her other books.

Actions

Information

5 responses

7 12 2015
Jennifer Johnston

The tiny size of the nine patch intimidates me!

7 12 2015
LauriAnne Disinger

Aby saw your block featured in the current issue of The Quiltmaker–CONGRATULATIONS!!! Merry Christmas to you, Randy and the D-men Lauri

Sent from my iPhone LMD 🇺🇸

>

8 12 2015
abydolinger

Thanks, Lauri, I have to purchase a copy of Quiltmaker, then. I’m curious about how they presented the block I designed.

9 12 2015
Karlene

This is such a fun block. Will look forward to your progress. If you need more squares, come raid my Delightful Little Treasure Boxes full of cut squares.

28 12 2015
“Tumalo Trail” Progress Report | abyquilts

[…] quilt project I’m working on this winter. You can read about the beginning of this project here. This quilt, designed by Bonnie Hunter, works well as a Leader/Ender project. But I am not strictly […]

Leave a Reply

