Quiltmaker Bitty Blocks – “Pinwheels”

31 12 2015

Throughout 2015 Quiltmaker editors have provided free mini quilt block patterns on their blog, Quilty Pleasures. I have blogged about several of these blocks knowing that some of my readers enjoy making 3″ and 4″ blocks. December’s block is a 3″ “Pinwheel.” Click here for the tutorial.

IMG_3793

Click here to find links to instructions for all the mini blocks and to see Paula Stoddard’s fabulous row quilt. Quiltmaker editors want to know if you would like more mini quilt blocks, one per month, in 2016. If you are a fan of mini blocks, leave a comment on the Dec. 27 Quilty Pleasures blog.

If you have made some of the Bitty Blocks and would like to share a picture of your work in progress, email me at aby dot quilts at gmail dot com.

Actions

Information

5 responses

31 12 2015
Deborah

Thanks for posting about the Bitty Blocks. I think they are pretty darn awesome. I especially love pinwheels!

31 12 2015
Kim

I’m a fan of the big pin wheels ! Love looking at all the hard work that goes into the bitty blocks pin wheels . 💛💚💙💜❤️
Love all the colors

1 01 2016
Liz Horgan

I haven’t made the bitty blocks but I’m putting to row quilt on my to do list-or maybe make a mini quilt!
I’d love to keep seeing bitty blocks.
Thanks!

1 01 2016
Carol Leak

Aby, THANKS for the post about the Bitty blocks! I have been doing them each month, they are fun and so cute! Now that I see the quilt they made, I am wondering if they ever told us about the flying geese rows? I don’t see anything about them. I know how to make them, of course, there are so many ways to do them, but need to know what size they are to be? Do you know? Thanks for any help you can give. Carol

2 01 2016
abydolinger

Hi Carol, I found a Quiltmaker URL that is a tutorial for making Flying Geese that finish at 1″ x 2.” This is the size Paula Stoddard used in her row quilt of bitty blocks. http://www.quiltmaker.com/blogs/quiltypleasures/2015/12/qm-bitty-blocks-flying-geese/

Leave a Reply

