Fat Quarter Challenge for 2016

6 01 2016

Personal Back Story:  Since we are in the process of building a new house, I decided to clean my sewing room and organize my fabric. By placing the fabric by color or style in see-through bins, I am more ready for the move, and my sewing room looks much neater for would-be buyers of our current home. During the organizing process, I discovered that I have a LOT of fat quarters in my stash! Some I purchased, some were gifts. All need to be transformed into quilts.

IMG_3795

Your Empathy Solicited:  What about you? Is your stash also replete with 18″ x 21″ rectangles of colorful fabric, neatly folded and stacked invitingly?

The Challenge:  Join me in making a concerted effort to use some of those lovely fat quarters in 2016!

The Plan:  Each month, around the 15th, I’ll post a picture of a project that utilizes fat quarters. Knowing that I promised to highlight a project, I’ll be motivated to creatively use my FQs. And by posting mid-month, you’ll be reminded to incorporate FQs in your current project. I would love to show pictures of your projects on my blog, too, so please send them to me by the 15th of the following month. Of course, you may use additional fabric in your projects.

The Commitment:  Would you like to participate in the 2016 Fat Quarter Challenge? It’s an open-ended Quilt-A-Long. By saying “I’m in” in the comment section below, you agree to use some of your FQs this year in your current projects. It is not necessary to make a project each month, and it is not necessary to send pictures of your projects to me . . . but it will be more fun (and use more of your hoarded FQs) if you do!

Actions

Information

22 responses

6 01 2016
Jennifer Johnston

Since I am fairly new to the quilting world, I do NOT have a fat quarter stash! But I will enjoy seeing the projects each month!!!

6 01 2016
Maridee Hargis

definitely in!

6 01 2016
Judy Boney

I am in!

6 01 2016
Deborah

I don’t have a lot of fat quarters, but I do have some, and I need some motivation to work on my quilting projects, so I’m in. I can use fat quarters I do have and incorporate them into said projects. 🙂

6 01 2016
dwlcmyers

I’m in!! Sounds like a good idea.

6 01 2016
Jean Rennick

I’m in

6 01 2016
Tonya Krout

I’m in!

6 01 2016
Liz Horgan

I’m willing to give it a try!

6 01 2016
Heather Raymond

sounds like fun

6 01 2016
Sana

I have a friend in Illinois who is a quilter…and a librarian. Each year since 1997, she has done a year-end reckoning. She tracks all of the fabric she gained, whether purchased or given to her, and then all the fabric she used, either sold, used in a quilt, or given away. She also tracks the number of quilts she makes/finishes. It’s pretty impressive.

6 01 2016
Ellie P

I’m In and have already cut fabric for a block from fat quarters.

6 01 2016
Barb

I’m in!

6 01 2016
TracineCharest

I am game to give it a try

7 01 2016
Connie German

I’m in.

7 01 2016
Chris Woods

I’m in!! Great challenge for me to make some place mats and potholders.

7 01 2016
Helga Hörz

I’m in!

7 01 2016
Tricia

I’m in!

9 01 2016
Phyllis Zaun

Sounds like fun. I have many a fat quarter. I’m in.

11 01 2016
Connie

I’m in

12 01 2016
scstephquilts

I’m in.

18 01 2016
What’s On The Cutting Mat Monday – scstephquilts

[…] January 18, 2016 Are you participating in the 2016 Fat Quarter Challenge?  In preparation for a move, Aby Dolinger is working to reduce her fat quarter archives.  You can read more and sign up to participate on her blog.  https://abyquilts.wordpress.com/2016/01/06/fat-quarter-challenge-for-2016/ […]

28 01 2016
Diane

I’m in!

Leave a Reply

