Brown Bag Challenge, Finished!

11 01 2016

IMG_3790My blog post on 30 December showed a yellow and blue quilt bordered with the Morning Glory fabric that I drew from a brown bag last February. If you recall, I was challenged to use it in a quilt along with this muted 1800’s repro print. But I just couldn’t muddy the sunshine of the blue and yellow quilt! I didn’t want to spend my time making a quilt I would not be pleased with just to fulfill the challenge.

However, I do like the repro print, and I determined to use it with other muted fabrics. The “Aha!” moment came when I spied a container of 5″ “Friendship Stars” on a shelf in my sewing room. They were constructed from squares and HSTs leftover from a Civil War repro “Shoofly” quilt. Click here and here to read the back story.

IMG_3792

IMG_3806The second “Aha!” moment came when I thought of a way to include the Morning Glory fabric in a Civil War repro quilt. I cut a 2″ square and tea-dyed it in a steaming mug of black pekoe. This just goes to show that you can tone down primary colors by over-dying, but you can’t lighten and brighten shady hues so handily. Here’s a picture of the block containing the challenge fabric as its center square. Granted it looks very non-descript, but I feel good about fulfilling the challenge rules.

IMG_3803For setting the “Friendship Star” blocks, my first thought was straight set rows sashed with tan or a medium tone fabric. Then I surmised that setting the blocks on point would look more interesting. A quick search in the stash yielded a dark green print which blends well with the challenge fabric. After cutting the green squares, I planned to also cut green setting triangles. But, alas and alack, there was not enough green fabric, so I used the pink micro print that I originally intended for an inner border. Now the bold pink triangles act as a border separating the patchwork from the print border. Win-win!

I am so pleased with both the quilts. The moral of the story is:  if you are stumped by challenge fabrics or rules, keep thinking about it, rummage through your stash, and allow creativity on the back burner of your brain to offer a solution that meets the challenge and pleases you!

IMG_3805

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 01 2016
Ronda

That is fabulous! Love the side by side showing the same print. Would have been terrified to do that. Now not so much.

11 01 2016
Jennifer Johnston

Very clever Aby! And beautiful as well!

Leave a Reply

