One Quilt, Two Quilt . . . Red Quilt, Blue Quilt

13 01 2016

“All the Whos down in Whoville loved Christmas a lot. But the Grinch, who lived just north of Whoville, did not. Now, please don’t ask why, no one quite knows the reason.” It could be that his cold heart needed a quilt for the season!

My son, Dan, and his wife, avid supporters of amazon.com, gave me a package of Dr. Seuss 6 1/2″ charm squares for Christmas. Since the package contained 2 each of 14 different fabrics, I decided to make 2 small lap quilts for 3 year old twin boys that attend our chapel. Desiring some help and design advice, I invited the boys’ sisters over for a sew day during winter break. (You might remember my posts about Keona’s and Kalea’s quilts this past summer. K and K are the twins’ big sisters.)

IMG_3819

“The sun did not shine. It was too wet to play.” So we sat in the house and quilted all day!

I cut out 32 more squares from bright fabrics, and the younger girls sorted the blocks into two equal piles. After they arranged 30 squares on my design wall for Quilt Thing One, they labeled each square (1A, 1B, 1C, etc.). The older girls sewed and pressed 2 1/2″ x 6 1/2″ black sashing between the blocks. I demonstrated how to line up vertical sashing strips across horizontal sashing by chalking thin registration marks with a chalk-o-liner.

IMG_3809          IMG_3810

Before the day was over, they had assembled the squares for Quilt Thing One and had designed the block placement for Quilt Thing Two. (What can I say? We were all a little punchy by the end of the day!)

IMG_20151231_153820_983

Since school resumed, I have worked on completing both quilts. Won’t the twins be surprised to receive cuddly blankets from their sisters? And we’ll be sure to ask them “Do you like green eggs and ham?” Could you eat them without guilt? Would you like them with a quilt?

Actions

Information

7 responses

13 01 2016
Mary Ed Williams

I love the comment “avid supporters of amazon.com”! Unfortunately, there are a lot of us out here who do, too!
Darling quilts.

13 01 2016
Randi

Aby, how delightful! What fun for everyone! Cute quilts and cute blog.

13 01 2016
Jennifer Johnston

These are fabulous Aby! I love that they are for twin boys! My favorite kind of twins!! When I make a quilt with sashing (someday) you’ll have to give me a lesson on the registration marks!!

13 01 2016
Kim

Love the quilts 💚

13 01 2016
Karlyn

Too cute!!

14 01 2016
Chris Woods

So cute!

16 01 2016
DebM

What a cute post, idea, and quilts! I’m sure the twins will be thrilled, and their sisters are making some beautiful memories. Bless you!

Leave a Reply

