Fat Quarter Challenge – January

15 01 2016

As I posted on January 6th, I am challenging myself to use one or more hoarded fat quarters (FQs) each month this year. Today I present, “Playtime with Pinwheels,” my newest baby quilt design. The fabric pull, pictured below, shows several FQs that I received as a “thank you” gift from Tarheel Quilters Guild members. (The guild’s tradition is to bless outgoing officers with FQs at the December meeting.)

IMG_3796

If you compare the fabric pull with the picture of the quilt, you’ll notice that I substituted light purple for teal. Although the FQ of theme print contains teal, I felt the teal shown above would have over-powered the pastel feel of the quilt. Would you like to make this quilt? You can find the link to printer-friendly instructions on my Patterns page. Just click on “Playtime with Pinwheels.” Caveat: I wrote basic measurement and cutting guidelines rather than a step-by-step tutorial because I assume that you have some quilting experience.

IMG_3807

A baby girl is going to be happily fascinated with this quilt, and I, in turn, am happy to have used several FQs from my stash for this project.

What about you? Will you rise to meet the FQ challenge? Please send me a picture of your project by 15 February, and I’ll share it with blog readers.

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 01 2016
scstephquilts

As a quilter, cat lover and fabric archiver, I’ve collected cat fabrics for over 20+ years. When the October 2015 storms and flooding destroyed four animal shelters in SC, I knew I had found the perfect project for all those fat quarters. They are the perfect size for small kennel quilts.

One of the shelters is in Summerville, SC, on the way to Charleston, SC. I was asked to conduct a trunk show and class for the Charleston guild which gave me the opportunity to deliver 80 fat quarter kennel quilts.

My first fat quarter project is small kennel quilts. And I must give credit to my sister quilters who helped cut and donated batting. I did do all the sewing and quilting but I did have tons of help with the preparation.

15 01 2016
Jennifer Johnston

I love the floral print! This looks like a pattern even a beginner could handle! Enjoy seeing your monthly challenge items!

15 01 2016
Deborah

I love pinwheels, so this is going to inspire me once I get my two current projects finished. Lovely baby quilt! It is certainly fun to see what you are doing with your FQ challenge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

