Blog Readers Share – January FQ Challenge

20 01 2016

At the beginning of January, I proposed a challenge for 2016 – “Let’s make a concerted effort to use fat quarters in our projects this year.” It’s an open-ended Quilt A-Long; you can join at any time and incorporate FQs in any project you’d like. I invited blog readers to send pictures showing their projects.

The first to respond was Chris who make Topflappen (potholders) with a gorgeous wine-themed print. What an elegant addition for her kitchen! Chris admits this was a simple project, but a great way to get started on the challenge. I think it was a creative way to use a large scale print!

20160114_170753

Stephanie sent several pictures showing the kennel quilts she made for animal shelters that needed refurbishing after the recent extensive flooding in South Carolina.

DSC_0149

“As a quilter, cat lover and fabric archiver, I’ve collected cat fabrics for over 20+ years. When the October 2015 storms and flooding destroyed four animal shelters in SC, I knew I had found the perfect project for all those fat quarters. They are the perfect size for small kennel quilts. I must give credit to my sister quilters who helped cut and donated batting. I did do all the sewing and quilting but I did have tons of help with the preparation.”

DSC_0145

Would you like to make a kennel quilt? Here are some particulars:  Some of the quilts have cat fabrics on both sides; some are plain on the back. Stephanie layered batting, backing (right side up), and top (right side down). She placed a small plate at each corner and traced the curve to round the corners. She pinned and then sewed all around the quilt sandwich, leaving a 3″ to 4″ opening for turning on one side. She clipped the corner curves, turned the quilt right sides out, pressed the edges, and top-stitched around the quilt which sewed the opening closed. Machine quilting secured the layers together.

It’s great to see your challenge projects, keep ’em coming!

aby dot quilts at gmail dot com

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 01 2016
Bibby Moore

Hi Any I just finished my snow flake quilt and learned something that might be useful to others. First choose fabrics if similar color…I had a lot of orange and used a range from sienna to marigold. I think it is not as effective because the oranges are too different. Also I think it is better to have one color dominate and the teals and oranges are both as bright which makes it harder to see the snowflake pattern. What do you think? Bibby

20 01 2016
abydolinger

Could you email me a picture of your Snowflake quilt?

22 01 2016
scrapmuffinquilts

Love how the cute kitty matches the mat, or I should say, the mat matches the kitty.

Leave a Reply

