Blog Readers Share #2 – January FQ Challenge

27 01 2016

Maridee is participating in the 2016 Fat Quarter Challenge, and she sent a picture of her “Playtime with Pinwheels” quilt. You can find instructions for making the quilt on the Patterns page of this blog.

zpl FUSSY old pinwheels

She writes, “Just finished this version of your pinwheel design.  I’m calling it FUSSY Old Pinwheels.  Being in the military, I see acronyms everywhere and often make up my own.  This one is Finally Used Some Six Year Old Pinwheels.  The pinwheels are left overs from a quilt I made for our third granddaughter before she was born 6 years ago. Four patches are made from my stash of 2 1/2″ squares. Flower print, lime, 2 pinks and 2 turquoises were fat quarters.  This will be donated to Project Linus.”
IMG_3288My friend, Stacy, and some of her neighborhood sewing friends are making pillowcase dresses to send to a tropical country. Acting on a hunch, she modified the instructions and made a dress with FQs.
 Stacy writes, “Success! Four fat quarters makes just the right size medium ‘little dress!’ I turned the fat quarters with the 21 inches horizontal, sewed two together for the front, then two for the back. The seams are down each side; then I followed the directions on the website for the armholes, elastic, and ties. I would note, however, that the bias binding I used was small, and the sewing would have been easier if it had been double width! I’ll make sure to use the larger size when I make the next ‘little dress!’ ” You will find the original pillowcase dress pattern on this website  http://www.littledressesforafrica.org/blog/ 
Way to use those Fat Quarters, Maridee and Stacy! Who else has photos to share for the FQ Challenge? Send them to aby dot quilts at gmail dot com.
Actions

Information

One response

27 01 2016
Jennifer Johnston

Love the little dress!

Leave a Reply

