“Tumalo Trail” Finished!

1 02 2016

IMG_3868Well, I learned from my previous post, Sashing for “Tumalo Trail,” that quilters have definite opinions! Of the twenty-seven readers who commented, twenty-three felt the quilt would look best without sashing. Thanks for generously sharing your opinions; I took them to heart and assembled the quilt top without sashing. In analyzing the probable reason for your preference of “no sashing,” I believe you were trying to steer me away from making a quilt of individual scrappy blocks to making a quilt with a bold, unified diamond design. You helped me see the magnificent forest instead of focusing on each particular tree. Since this is my winter scrap quilt project (think “ski season”), I’m renaming my quilt “Black Diamonds.”

In constructing the quilt without sashing, I dreaded  matching the seams of the Nine Patches, knowing that most seam allowances were pressed in the same direction and would therefore not “lock” together. But you know, pinning at each seam intersection was not as time consuming as I thought it would be. Although I generally press seam allowances to one side, in this case, I pressed the seams open as I joined the blocks to each other. I felt this would reduce the possibility of broken needles and skipped stitches during the quilting stage.

IMG_20160124_152524_028

One reason I originally planned to sash the blocks was to make a larger quilt. The sixteen unsashed blocks resulted in only a 54″ square throw-size quilt top. To bring it up to nearly twin size, I added a red inner border and a black outer border. Unfortunately, I didn’t have enough of the old, black print skirt I repurposed for this project to construct the entire outer border. Rummaging in my bin of black fabrics, though, I found two print fat quarters that would blend nicely. A scrappy quilt can accommodate a scrappy border, right?

IMG_3865

I cut all the border strips in 5″ widths and in various lengths and sewed them together alternately. The backing is a red VIP paw-print from the 90’s from my Aunt Ruth’s stash. I quilted a ”contour ploughing with random spirals” over-all, freehand design with off-white thread The quilt now measures 69″ square and will keep someone toasty warm this winter.

The funny thing about finishing a scrappy quilt is that I want to start another one right away. Opinions, anyone, on what my next project could be?

 

Actions

Information

12 responses

1 02 2016
Ronda

It turned out fabulous!!

1 02 2016
Ilse

😍

1 02 2016
Mary Ed Williams

Absolutely gorgeous! I want to make one.

1 02 2016
Karlyn

Aby,
That quilt turned out so cool! I love it! I may just have to try one of my own! As your your next scrappy quilt- what ever you do will be worth waiting for!!

1 02 2016
Trinity

This is truly gorgeous.

1 02 2016
Jennifer Johnston

The finished product is stunning Aby! No sashing was definitely the right choice. And again you managed to squeak in a couple fat quarters!!

1 02 2016
Marie Krause

Beautiful! I love the border too! I recommend Long Road Home for your next scrappy project (lol).

1 02 2016
Vanessa Glova

Stunning quilt! Good decision to leave off the Sashing.

1 02 2016
Darlene B

I love the finished project!!

1 02 2016
Sally

What a stunner! I liked the block but seeing this top finished has put the quilt on my must do next list. Thanks for inspiration.

1 02 2016
Tonya Krout

It looks wonderful!

1 02 2016
Yolanda

Fantastic! I am inspired.

Leave a Reply

