2016 Fat Quarter Challenge – February

15 02 2016

This year I’m doing my best to turn my burgeoning stash of Fat Quarters into quilts. I hope you’ll join me in this quest; accept the Fat Quarter Challenge! Here are some projects which utilized FQs.

First, I used a brown and pink print FQ that I received at Christmastime to make our guild’s February BOM, Jacob’s Ladder. The Block Of the Month coordinator stipulated brown and pink prints, so my FQ fit the bill.

IMG_20160210_151624_307-1

IMG_20160208_110239_576-1I used leftovers from the print as well as several other pink and brown FQs and scraps to make “Steppin’ Up,” one of my all-time favorite baby quilts. Notice that the border print is augmented with two other prints; I turned a shortage of fabric into a “design opportunity.” I used brown/pink variegated thread in a freehand meandering quilting design. Don’t you love the striped binding? (A link for instructions to “Steppin’ Up” is on the Patterns page of this blog. I modified the pattern by cutting my strips 4″ wide rather than 3 1/2″ wide.)

 

Something about fat quarters makes me think of making baby quilts. I suppose that’s because a fat quarter is a small-ish piece of fabric, just right for making a small-ish quilt.

IMG_3836

This quilt incorporates two FQs I received in December from two quilting friends. Anne gave me the sweet Beatrix Potter print which I used in Four Patches on the front of the quilt. Peggy gave me the clown print which was just the right size for completing the backing. Click on the picture to zoom in; you’ll see the pastel prints and quilting design in more detail.

IMG_3838

I combined the fat quarters with pinks and greens from my stash to bless a preemie in the NICU at our local hospital.

How will you use your FQs this month? Send me a picture of your project, and I’ll share it with blog readers. aby dot quilts at gmail dot com

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 02 2016
Jennifer Johnston

You certainly are getting a lot of quilting done with your FQ challenge! Love the Beatrix Potter quilt!

15 02 2016
Mary Ed Williams

What adorable quilts!

16 02 2016
scrapmuffinquilts

You are really getting those FQ’s used up–and into such great quilts!

Leave a Reply

