“Splendid Sampler” Sew Along

16 02 2016

Pat Sloan and Jane Davidson have teamed up to plan a sampler of 100 6″ blocks. They’ve contacted 80 designers to contribute blocks to the project which began on Valentine’s Day. They plan to post or email directions for two blocks per week. Click here to link to an explanation of the project and to sign up!

IMG_3907The first block is an appliqued heart on a patchwork background designed by Pat. I had planned on using my collection of “Katie Jump Rope” half yard cuts. But some of the prints are large scale, and we will be making 6″ blocks – not a good fit. Add to that, the first block’s heart motif – there’s no red in my “Katie Jump Rope” collection.

IMG_3905So I decided to use a Fat Quarter bundle of “Chocolat” given to me at Christmastime by a quilting friend. I love how my block turned out. And as my friend, Patti, posted on her fb page, “One down, and 99 to go!”

Have you joined the “Splendid Sampler” Sew Along? It’s a great way to stretch your quilt making skills and use some Fat Quarters in the process!

Actions

Information

7 responses

16 02 2016
Jennifer Johnston

I’m so glad you joined Aby! I joined, but realistically will probably not sew any blocks!! I did want to follow along though. I will enjoy sewing vicariously through you and Courtney instead!!

16 02 2016
abydolinger

It is a good idea to print the patterns even of you don’t have time to sew them now. They may be helpful for future projects!

16 02 2016
scrapmuffinquilts

Yes, I am also making the Splendid Sampler.

16 02 2016
csgamble

I’m also participating in the Splendid Sampler…as well as the 365 Challenge, and FQS’s Crossroads… and I’m still working on Bonnie Hunter’s Allietare mystery which I have declared my snow day project!

17 02 2016
abydolinger

You go, Cheryl!

23 02 2016
Brenda E.

I have started too! It will be a challenge to keep up but I always somehow find a way.

7 03 2017
My “Splendid Sampler” | abyquilts

[…] of techniques would be employed for the sampler blocks. You can read about my fabric selection on this blog post. As the weeks progressed, I began to realize that not all of the patterns were suitable for my […]

Leave a Reply

