Thankful for Quilting Friends

29 02 2016

IMG_8714

Last week I attended a yearly quilting retreat that centers around the Mid-Atlantic Quilt Festival held in Hampton, Virginia. What fun we had catching up with each other’s lives, families, and quilting projects. We showed creative results of our “ugly fabric challenge” as well as UFOs we’ve completed this past year. Along with the chatting, laughing, sewing, and snacking, we attended the quilt show where we met up with additional quilting friends.

Pictured below are the Black Forest Quilters (based in Stuttgart, Germany), who met up on Thursday. Our backdrop is the best of show quilt, Silk Road Sampler, created by Melissa Sobotka.

IMG_1301

We enjoyed shopping at the vendors’ booths, and I snapped some photos of quilts for inspiration. For example, I want to make a quilt like Skylight in the Barn by Barbara Costen. I could incorporate all the large triangles that have been accumulating in my scrap basket for years.DSCN7703

I was also inspired by Coloring Earth by Christine Davis. Wouldn’t this “New York Beauty” design look splendid made with my collection of African prints?

DSCN7706

My friend Yvette Cienski’s Strollin’ thru the Pinwheels was in a special exhibit of Peninsula Piecemaker Quilt Guild’s 30th anniversary challenge. Isn’t the dainty parasol lady charming?

DSCN7699

I am so thankful for quilting friends who share their time and expertise with me. It is so much more enjoyable to attend a quilt show with like-minded companions! It is so much more enriching to ponder the conundrums of a current quilting project with sympathetic and encouraging friends! To finish today’s post, I’d like to honor my quilting friend, Judy Ehmer, who passed away 23 February. When I moved to Stuttgart, she welcomed me into the quilting community with open arms – something she has done for many American quilters for many years. She answered my questions as I struggled with learning German language and culture. In addition, we enjoyed traveling to sites of interest, sampling restaurant fare, and sewing together. My three year stay in Stuttgart was warmer because of her friendship. Judy, you were dearly loved and will be greatly missed!

IMG_0867_2592x1728

Judy and Hermann Ehmer photographed by Conny Seemann

Actions

Information

6 responses

29 02 2016
Mary Ed Williams

What fun all of you had! And, as usual, the quilts were unbelievable.
So sorry to hear of the loss of your friend.

29 02 2016
DebM

That’s a beautiful picture of Judy and Hermann – nicely done Conny! Thanks for sharing all the photos Aby — looks like you had another fabulous, inspiring time in VA!

29 02 2016
Jennifer Johnston

So sorry to hear of the loss of your friend. What an impact she made!

29 02 2016
Erin Ramsey

Judy!! I loved her! She was always so happy to see us Americans blend with the Germans at the guild. She was on my mind recently. I’m very sad to see that she passed away. Prayers and blessings to her family.

4 03 2016
Bibby Moore

Thanks for the wonderful pictures. Also, I think many quilters have the magic of sharing our love of quilting with others…along with our friendship.

5 03 2016
scrapmuffinquilts

Looks like you had a fun and inspiring time. Sorry for the loss of your friend.

Leave a Reply

