Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

17 03 2016

DSCN5997Two years ago I designed a scrappy green and white “Single Irish Chain” table topper. Click here to see my blog post and photographic tutorial for making it. Karen Schleier emailed recently asking if she could show a picture of the quilt and link to my blog post on the Fabric Editions blog. Click here to link to Karen’s post (March 11, 2016) about collecting green fabrics and using them in four fun projects to celebrate St. Pat’s day:  a wreath, a table runner, an embellished baby onesie, and my quilt.

DSCN7723This year I’m decorating my dining table with another green and white quilt. Same design, but the colors are reversed, and I used just two fabrics this time. My mother-in-law recently gave me nearly a yard of an emerald tone-on-tone from her stash; it–plus Kona white–makes a bold combination. Using white thread, I quilted a grid of diagonal lines. The simplicity of the quilting design beautifully complements the simplicity of the two fabric quilt design. I chose a bright floral print for the backing so the quilt can be turned over and used throughout the spring and summer months.

Besides “Single Irish Chain,” what patchwork design would you use to make a Green and White quilt?

Actions

Information

3 responses

17 03 2016
dwlcmyers

Like the reverse colors.

17 03 2016
Jennifer Johnston

When you are quilting a small table topper do you still use your long arm machine? Or is it easier to use your standard sewing machine?

21 03 2016
abydolinger

I quilt smaller items (placemats, table runners, doll quilts, etc.) on my Brother 1500 or my Pfaff. Baby quilt size and larger will be quilted on my longarm. It takes time to pin a quilt into the longarm, so for smaller items, it is just as time efficient to quilt with a domestic sewing machine.

Leave a Reply

