“Royalty” Block

21 03 2016

A dear friend, who loves butterflies and whose birthday is in March, suggested that a wall quilt would be a welcome birthday gift. At JoAnn’s I found the lovely Buttercream line of fabric which includes butterfly prints, Parisian images, coordinating prints and tone-on-tones in various colors. On my way to the cashier, I noticed boxes of notecards with the same motifs. How delightful to add matching stationery to my gift package!

IMG_3927

After my fabric purchase, I began the search for “the perfect” quilt block design. I leafed through volume 12 of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks from Today’s Top Designers for inspiration. The “Royalty” block designed by Melissa Corry caught my eye. By using the butterfly print for a wide outer border, all the coordinating fabrics I purchased found places within the patchwork block. I added “Hourglass” blocks in the corners of the outer border to further complement the butterfly theme.

IMG_3919

Since the deep pink patches resemble hearts, I quilted them with a heart design. I cut out a paper heart shape and traced around it with chalk in all four pink patches. Stitching on the chalked lines added uniformity to my otherwise freehand quilting designs. Gray thread blended nicely with all the fabrics. (Click on the picture below to better see the quilting designs.) For binding, I auditioned two colors:  gray and pink. Even though gray was elegant and sedate, I selected pink for a bold, definitive finish.

DSCN7722

Have you made a wall quilt with any in the Quiltmaker 100 Blocks series?

 

 

Actions

Information

5 responses

21 03 2016
Jennifer Johnston

Love the quilt and the fabric choices! What a lovely gift for your friend. I really like the block, as it is similar to the quatrefoil that I really like!

21 03 2016
Dwanna

Beautiful!

21 03 2016
Liz Horgan

That is a beautiful gift–she’s a lucky lady!

21 03 2016
Ronda

Really pretty.

21 03 2016
Kim

Love the quilt butterflies ❤️💙💚💜

Leave a Reply

