Totally Scrappy “Aunt Sukey’s Choice”

24 03 2016

Earlier this week I was talking with hubby about which quilt or project I could show on the blog for Easter since I enjoy writing faith-based posts especially on holidays. He said, “Maybe you could resurrect a project.” (He is a funny guy!) Truth be told, I have a tuff-tote filled with projects that need reviving and some life breathed into them, but that is a story for another day! Today I will show you “Aunt Sukey’s Choice” and relate it to Christ’s resurrection.

The Back Story:  Nancy is the Block of the Month chair-woman for my guild, Tarheel Quilters. As a follow-on of Joan Ford’s lecture on scrap quilts in February, Nancy challenged us to raid our scrap bins and make “Aunt Sukey’s Choice” with 2 ½” squares and 2 ½” x 4 ½” rectangles.

IMG_20160320_141024_150

I so wanted to win the Block of the Month drawing. Don’t all the shingled blocks look fabulous? Well, I didn’t win, but I think I like the block enough to make 12 for a throw or a twin size quilt. I certainly have enough scraps for the project!

Come to think of it, this patchwork block could be a metaphor for Jesus’ disciples and the Easter story. The vertical and horizontal dark sections resemble the cross; the “Four Patch” in the center represents the tomb. After Christ arose from the dead, the disciples spread the gospel to the four corners of the earth, sharing forgiveness of sins through faith in Jesus’ death and resurrection.

DSCN7737

Wishing you and your family a blessed Easter!

Actions

Information

12 responses

25 03 2016
Chris Woods

Fun and faith goes hand in hand ! Great explanation.

25 03 2016
Mary Ed Williams

Wonderful blocks, Aby. Scrap quilts are my absolute favorites.
Have a blessed, lovely Easter.
Mary Ed

25 03 2016
Jennifer Johnston

Another question….what do you mean by “shingled blocks”????

25 03 2016
abydolinger

The Blocks Are Displayed Overlapping One Another On The Table. Sorry For The Confusion.

25 03 2016
Jennifer Johnston

Oh, that makes sense! I think the 4 points could show Christ’s love all around us in His sacrifice on the cross.

26 03 2016
abydolinger

I Like Your Analogy, Jenn, Of God’s Love All Around Us As Shown Particularly By Christ’s Death On The Cross. I Like The Arrow Type Tips On The Four Arms Of The “Cross.” This Gives The Idea Of Spreading Out, Indicating Movement.

25 03 2016
Marie Krause

What a wonderful Bible lesson from that quilt block! I will always see it in a different way now. The block is lovely so now I look forward to seeing your finished quilt.

25 03 2016
clagness@comcast.net

Aby, I so enjoyed this patch description as it pertains to Easter.  Thank you and love sharing it with my quilting group.   Hope this Easter finds you and Randy well and enjoying the blessings of this season. hugs, Cindy

Our journeys through life are brightened by the acts of kindness and caring of the friends we make along the way.

25 03 2016
abydolinger

Thank You, Cindy!

25 03 2016
Patti Hyder

Well done, tying that block into Easter! I like that block, I’ve been trying to decide what block to use my red, white and blue 2 1/2″ sq and 2 1/2 x 4″ bricks in for a queen sized quilt in my guest room. That one would be fun!

27 03 2016
Ronda

That was a fabulous description of this block which I really enjoyed making. I am always trying to find a bible lesson in what what I am quilting. Thank you.

29 08 2017
“Scrappy Patch” Published! | abyquilts

[…] my container of  2 1/2″ squares and my container of 2 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ rectangles. Click here to read the blog post about my disappointment in not winning all the blocks submitted by guild […]

Leave a Reply

