“The Adventurers” Baby Quilt

31 03 2016

We are expecting a new grandson in June. And you know what that means . . . Grandma needs to make a quilt to celebrate!

My local quilt shop, Loving Stitches, currently stocks “The Adventurers,” a line designed by Cori Dantini for Blend. The pictures are so sweet and just perfect for a baby boy!

DSCN7745

I purchased a panel of 8 large blocks, a panel of 8 rectangles, and 1/4 yd. each of red, yellow, and green print. My plan was to strip piece the prints, cross-cut and sew the simple patchwork to the rectangles. This would enlarge the rectangle blocks to the same size as the large blocks.

DSCN7748      DSCN7750

Here’s a lay-out of all the blocks. I think they need some sashing so each picture can be appreciated. Take a look at the lower left corner; I auditioned 2 blues from stash that blend with the colors in the quilt blocks. I think I like the lighter blue better. The darker blue draws my eye to the sashing instead of to the sweet pictures. What do you think?

DSCN7753

Off to the quilt shop I go! I figure I need 2 1/2 yards for sashing, border, backing and binding.

Actions

Information

7 responses

31 03 2016
Ellie p

I think the light blue just blends everything together. The darker does attract your eye but the scenes really stand out

31 03 2016
Mary Ed Williams

I agree – the light blue works better. What a cute quilt!

31 03 2016
Karlyn Sieg

I agree – the lighter blue is better!!

31 03 2016
Ronda

I love that fabric. Love the layout and yes light blue for me…

6 04 2016
scrapmuffinquilts

Congratulations on the upcoming grandson! What a cute quilt this will be.

7 04 2016
Jennifer Johnston

A new baby boy, how exciting! He will cherish his quilt. And I agree on the light blue.

19 04 2016
“The Adventurers” Finished! | abyquilts

[…] baby quilt for my expected grandson, made with “The Adventurers” fabric is finished! Click here to read about the beginning of this project. You will find printer friendly instructions for making […]

Leave a Reply

