Progress on “Aunt Sukey’s Choice”

4 04 2016

DSCN7762

On Saturday, I accompanied hubby to the Brushy Mountain Bee Company in Moravian Falls, NC. We picked up two 3 lb. packages of bees with queens to install in our empty hives. Here’s hoping they thrive in their new home and busily make enough honey for us to harvest on Labor Day!

On the three hour drive, I enjoyed the signs of spring:  blooming dogwoods and redbuds purposely planted along the highway, trees on the hillsides sprouting fresh green leaves, and yellow butterflies flitting from flower to flower. Along with viewing the scenery, I selected 2 1/2″ squares and 2 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ rectangles from my scrap containers for “Aunt Sukey’s Choice” blocks. Each block requires 12 colored 2 1/2″ squares and 8 colored 2 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ rectangles. I snapped pictures of each block with my phone to remind me of placement. Then I stacked and pinned each block group together, placing one block’s worth in a reclosable sandwich bag. Honestly, more thought is involved in planning a scrappy quilt than in planning a matchy-matchy quilt!

IMG_20160402_082235_554 (1)

Assembling block “kits” during the down time of the car trip resulted in speedy piecing once I returned to my sewing room.

Did you spot the block with a mistake? Seam ripper to the rescue!

 

Actions

Information

7 responses

4 04 2016
Marie Krause

So you are making lots of leftover triangles with this project I see. Not seeing the flowers and butterflies here. We have 3+ inches of snow and my poor daffodils and hyacinths are buried.

4 04 2016
Marie Krause

Yup, Block #2 from the left. But I am loving those blocks!

5 04 2016
Maridee Hargis

Love this use of scraps. Will have to try a few of these too.

6 04 2016
scrapmuffinquilts

Loving these scrappy Blocks!

7 04 2016
Jennifer Johnston

I see the oops! It is encouraging to know that even a master like you makes those simple mistakes!!

7 04 2016
Heather Raymond

Yah, for bees! I never tried your honey from the first batch. I love the new quilt blocks, very pretty.

29 08 2017
“Scrappy Patch” Published! | abyquilts

[…] into a quilt, I made eleven more blocks which resulted in a large lap quilt, 57″ x 71.” Click here to read about how I assembled a kit for each block during a car trip. And Click here to see a photo […]

Leave a Reply

