Fat Quarter Challenge – May

15 05 2016

Believe it or not, May is half over already! Have you been working on using up some fat quarters? I would love to see pictures of your projects, and blog readers would love to be inspired by your creativity! (aby dot quilts at gmail dot com)

DSCN7812

Project #1:  A simple way to utilize fat quarters is including them in your guild’s Block of the Month design. I used a white-on-white FQ as the background for two “Tulip Lady Fingers” blocks. Nancy, the Tarheel Quilters Guild BOM coordinator, specified yellow for the half square triangles and any color for the squares. Won’t these blocks be a great addition to the Block of the Month winner’s pretty spring-time quilt?

In addition to making the design in 12″ size, I made a 6″ block with “Chocolat” fabrics for my Splendid Sampler.

Project #2:  My baby quilt design, “Summer Safari,” is published in the June/July 2016 issue of McCall’s Quick Quilts. Click here to see  a picture and to read my blog post about it. Click here to order a magazine. I discovered that I could use the same amount of units needed to make “Summer Safari” to make a “Stair Step” quilt instead.

IMG_20160507_143539_842

I cut 2 1/2″ wide strips from 4 coordinating fat quarters, paired them with white strips, and cross-cut in 4 1/2″ increments. I made 16 “Rail Fence” units of each fabric combination. Instead of sewing 4 units into a “Simple Pinwheel” block, I laid out the units, stair-step fashion on my carpet. To organize the 64 units during the sewing stage, I stacked and sewed the quilt top in a web. If you zoom in on the picture below, you will see the threads connecting the rows. Click here to read Bonnie Hunter’s explanation of this technique.

IMG_20160507_150723_661

A 4″ border completes the 40″ square quilt. I’m entering it into our guild’s challenge for baby quilts using bright fabric. (Stay tuned for how I’ll used the fat quarter leftovers in another baby quilt!)

IMG_20160514_084032_899

Actions

Information

4 responses

15 05 2016
Marie Krause

I love the Tulip Lady Fingers blocks. I always thought they would make a pretty quilt. Your baby quilt is sweet as well.

15 05 2016
Rochelle Summers

Thank you for the quick little baby quilt tutorial using rail fence blocks. Love those bright colors.

15 05 2016
Jennifer Johnston

Love the stair step design. Seems like the perfect quilt pattern for boys (which I’m always on the lookout for).

25 05 2016
One Quilt Leads to Another | abyquilts

[…] Remember this quilt? It’s my “Stair Step” baby quilt made with strip-pieced “Rail Fence” units. This is my Fat Quarter Challenge project for May. You can read the blog post about it by clicking here. […]

Leave a Reply

