“Rocket’s Red Glare” Published!

26 05 2016

COVER-500px McCall's July Aug 2016I am so excited! My quilt, “Rocket’s Red Glare,” is on the cover of the July/August 2016 issue of McCall’s Quilting! Based on the “Road to Oklahoma” patchwork block and made with classic red, white, and blue, this quilt is a tribute to all things patriotic.

In 2016 McCall’s Quilting is including a Quilt of Valor pattern in each issue. And “Rocket’s Red Glare,” measuring 60″ x 80,” is this issue’s QOV feature. For the blocks and pieced border, I used pre-cut 2 1/2″ wide strips from Wilmington Prints.

This past weekend, Spring Quilt Market was held in Salt Lake City, Utah. F+W Media, the parent company of many of your favorite quilting magazines, included “Rocket’s Red Glare” in its display booth. I was thrilled to receive this picture from Deb on the McCall’s editorial staff!

20160520_084844

IMG_3680Adding to the fun of being “the cover girl,” I am McCall’s guest blogger today. Click here to link to the McCall’s blog post; read more details about my inspiration for “Rocket’s Red Glare” and its sister quilt, “Summer Glare.” FYI McCall’s is offering a free pattern for “Summer Glare” on their website (McCallsQuilting.com). Click on the Bonuses tab, and then click on the picture of “Summer Glare.”

McCall’s generously sent me several magazine copies to give to blog readers. If you would like to be in the drawing on June 1, leave a comment below stating what you found interesting in McCall’s blog for 26 May.

Actions

Information

17 responses

26 05 2016
Liz Horgan

I really liked the border on the Summer Glare quilt.
Happy Memorial Day!

26 05 2016
Darlene B

I appreciate your husband’s faithful service as a military chaplain. I’m sure that is not an easy job, but so necessary for all our troops.

26 05 2016
Marie Krause

Aby, Congratulations! How awesome to have your quilt featured on the cover!

26 05 2016
Patricia Moyles

Well done, Aby!

It’s beautiful… I will share it with my “Thursday” group…we have made over 70 patriotic quilts (so far!) for the hospice Ward at the Durham VA.

Regards, P

26 05 2016
Mary Ed

I got my copy yesterday- how exciting!

26 05 2016
Dwanna

Aby, what a beautiful quilt! Congratulations on having it making the COVER of McCalls!!! I love that the ‘Summer Glare’ looks nothing like the ‘Rockets Red Glare’ at first glance. What a difference color choices make!

26 05 2016
Connie German

Love your quilt. It makes me feel “good” to make a quilt of valor quilt and yours is beautiful.

26 05 2016
Kim

Love the quilt ! Congratulations
I found interest in both quilts on the McCall blogs and loved the different
Colors ! I love the Rockets Red Glare would love it in a king !!

26 05 2016
Lori Smanski

congratulations
have a happy and safe memorial day

26 05 2016
debbierhodes

I like seeing how color placement changes the quilt. Thanks

26 05 2016
T. Johnson

Congrats. You so deserve it. Thanks for your inspiration and sharing.

26 05 2016
scstephquilts

It is so interesting how the color choices change the entire look of the quilt. I’m always searching for different patterns for Quilts of Valor and this is one I will make. Congratulations Aby!

26 05 2016
Leticia Peterson

I enjoyed reading about the creative process behind the quilt, what worked & didn’t work, that led up to the final product. Congratulations on making the cover!

26 05 2016
Ronda

Congratulations Aby!! I love both versions and your dedication to finding just the right layout!

27 05 2016
Jennifer Johnston

Congratulations Aby!!! I love your patriotic quilt. I also enjoyed going to McCalls blog and seeing your second layout in the different color way. I am intrigued how they turn out so different!

27 05 2016
Brenda E.

I like how you did the border, and that really added to the blocks. I never have done a valor quilt but hope to in the near future.

30 05 2016
scrapmuffinquilts

Congratulations on your cover Quilt. I love the quilt and it was also fun to read your post on McCalls blog.

Leave a Reply

