“Gemini” Lap Quilt

6 06 2016

DSCN7846Kathy H. sent me a lap quilt to longarm which she made in memory of her mother whose favorite color was green.

Kathy writes, “I used a pattern–actually one of those post card type patterns–called Gemini by Villa Rosa Designs. It uses 20 – 2 1/2 ” strips–so just half of a jelly roll– plus 2 yards of background fabric.”

Several of the batik prints are foliage in nature, and the quilt back is a swirly fern green-on-green batik. The images on the fabrics gave me the idea to quilt fern fronds across the face of the quilt. You can tell at first glance that the design of the quilt is vertical columns of offset “boxes.” I could have loaded the quilt into my machine sideways and quilted stems of ferns that would follow the vertical theme. However, I felt the columns were too wide to effectively quilt this, so I decided to quilt fern fronds horizontally across the quilt using the 6″ wide rows as my visual quilting guide. This orientation gives the viewer’s eye two movements to consider–vertical and horizontal. Here is how I developed the design:

IMG_20160527_105243_313

Using my Wave Edge ruler (which is actually for rotary cutting), I drew a line approximately through the center of each row. On the light areas, I used a green chalk; on the darker fabrics, I used a white powder chalk (chalk-o-liner). I then quilted across the quilt on the drawn line.

IMG_20160527_105833_643

Next, I quilted a wavy line about 3/4″ above the drawn and quilted line, eye-balling the ups and downs. These two lines form the stem or main vein of the fern. (I have experimented with only one line for the vein, but feel the double lines define the design much better.)

The fun part was filling in the fern leaves between the wavy line. “S” curves, “C” curves, “moustache” curves, and curls were all useful in this step. Some of the leaf tips and curls point left while the others point right. By quilting this way, I achieved my goal:  there is not a definitive left or right, top or bottom of the quilt.

DSCN7852

Green is always so soothing, comforting, and calming; I know Kathy will enjoy snuggling under this quilt. Perhaps the fern quilting design will conjure images of lush, cool forest glens, welcome respites from arid summer weather.

Actions

Information

7 responses

6 06 2016
Kathy h

That is a beautiful quilt. It was helpful to me to see how you decided to quilt the top. Always something that I have trouble deciding.

6 06 2016
Mary Ed Williams

Love the quilt and especially the quilting. Back to practicing…

6 06 2016
Lauri D

This newsletter of the Femini quilt could not be more timely. I attended the NC Quilt Symposium and fell in love with a flag quilt pattern. It calls for a wavy top and bottom to the quilt. Seeing this wavy ruler today was a blessing… I can do this, Aby, yay🎉 Thank you!!!! The search is now on for a wavy ruler!!!

6 06 2016
Lauri D

Oops, typo…Gemini quilt, and a lovely one at that!!!

7 06 2016
Ilse

Great design and quilting, Aby!

7 06 2016
Patti Hyder

So clever! It’s beautiful!

14 08 2016
Kathy Hansen

Aby, i love, love, love this quilt. It’s hanging on my banister now and each time i walk by it, i think of my Mom and admire the gorgeous quilting!! You are truly an artist!

Leave a Reply

