The Need to Sew

9 06 2016

Months ago, I packed up a lot of my miscellaneous fabric and all my quilting books in preparation for moving. To declutter my studio, I folded and placed the fabric I was most likely to use in clear, lidded bins for easy access. And I filled a tough tote with projects I hoped to finish (or start!) in the months prior to our actual move. I have to admit, I have not been very diligent in working on these projects; I’ve been side-tracked by other shinier designs.

But just now I find myself between quilting projects and in need of something to sew. (I had to send the circuit boards of my long arm machine to the factory for repair, so quilting is “out.” I need something to sew.) I opened the tough tote, rummaged around, and extracted some coordinated leftovers from a baby quilt.

DSCN7856

There were seven Uneven Nine Patch blocks among the leftovers. I added a deep purple print and a bright yellow tone-on-tone from stash.

DSCN7857

I decided to make six more Uneven Nine Patch blocks with different fabric placement. The twelve blocks just need some white sashing to set them off. And then a purple border.

DSCN7859

I fulfilled my need to sew for today, anyway. And I completed two 6″ blocks for my Splendid Sampler as leaders/enders while sewing the baby quilt.

DSCN7860

Now all that remains of the coordinating fabric is truly scraps . . . except for that leftover Uneven Nine Patch block!

How about you? Are you feeling the need to sew? What are you working on?

Actions

Information

10 responses

9 06 2016
Jennifer Johnston

Still working on my half snowball quilt, bit ALSO sewing an Army spouse gift. It is a flat heart made of ACU fabric, embroidered with PROUD Army Wife. It has a ribbon hanger and is intended to collect all the unit pins we gather over the years. Found on Pinterest!!!

11 06 2016
abydolinger

I am glad you are continuing to enjoy creating, Jen. You go!

9 06 2016
Ronda

Love the uneven 9 patches. I have been burning the midnight oil literally. I have been working on a T-shirt quilt, my first, and graduation is Friday (tomorrow). But at 12:40 last night I finished the top. So at least I can give him that. To show what it will be. Good thing he is very close to our family.

11 06 2016
abydolinger

I bet he loved the T-shirt quilt!

9 06 2016
scstephquilts

Love the uneven nine patch! The colors really pop. I need to sew something every day. It was mentally painful after eye surgery when I could not see well enough to sew. I used my time to pull out UFOs and organize what I might work on at a retreat I’m attending in September. As my eyesight slowly improved, I started pinning, then to cutting batting scraps for piecing and eventually sewing again. I’m cutting batting and fabric for two upcoming Kennel Quilt Sew Days. And working on Quilts of Valor making other blocks as leaders and enders for a charity quilt.

11 06 2016
abydolinger

I am glad your eyes are recovering well after surgery! I agree, sewing is a calming activity, and I am agitated if I can’t sew something every day. Is this an addiction?

10 06 2016
Maridee Hargis

I spent last week in MT camping out in our empty forever home. We had an aerobed, folding table and 2 chairs, and misc dishes to work with. I had also taken one of my “spare” sewing machines along with some finished scrappy blocks. I would sew early in the morning before Mike woke up. I completed 6 tops from those blocks and still have blocks left over for three more. (Next trip to MT) Upon return to El Paso, five have been completed and are awaiting labels for the VA or NICU.

11 06 2016
abydolinger

Maridee, you are a whirlwind quilter! You know you are a dedicated quilter with a “need to sew” if you take your sewing machine and several projects with you on vacation!

10 06 2016
Trinity

Use the left over uneven 9 patch on the back of the quilt.

11 06 2016
abydolinger

Good idea!

Leave a Reply

